We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal in an authentic Italian restaruant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra Madre Cafe

Terra Madre Cafe
Ranked #380 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in an authentic Italian restaruant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had a really great meal - very rare in this world of globalisation to find a restaraunt serving such unique and specialist Italian food that we experienced new delicious things. Wine was also great. Very resonably priced also. Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    60
    22
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor excuse for a restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Among all the good restaurants in Dublin that serve, if not authentic "ethnic" cusine, at least good quality, fresh ingredients one I wouldn't include Terra Madre. The food is not particularly good, or fresh or even abundant, not to say anything about the ack of choice for vegetarians...all in all a disappointment!
What is really annoying is that the owners advertise the place as authentic Italian and good value for money: in Italy one would never pay that amount of money nor, indeed, eat there! Get real please!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ReluctantDubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian night out,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wednesday 12th of December, myself and six of my work colleagues decided to go out for Christmas the following Friday the 14th, in Dublin city centre. Needless to say I was running around like a headless chicken trying to find a decent restaurant that would accommodate us at such short notice. Pardon the pun, but there was no room at the inn. I however new of Terra Madre, having had spent a lovely evening there during the summer, and being Italian run, I thought they would squeeze us in. The waiter did say that they had a few sittings that night but if we came at 7 and were gone by 9 it would work. Perfecto! It proved no easy task to be out of work and into the city by 7 and some of is were tardier than others but we managed it in the end. The meal itself was wonderful. I noted that the menu hadn't changed much if not at all since July. We shared starters which were delicious beef lardons caper bruschetta. (Note to all the girls out there, don't eat beef lard on a first date, he'll never call you again). For main, being the Christmas season, I had veal gnocchi, while the fettuccine was a hit at the other side of the table. This was accompanied by delicious red alvo negro wine. For desert, the enthusiastic waiter brought out plates of Italian cakes so that we could decide for ouselves. I skipped desert, but I tasted the 7 layer chocolate cake and for sure ill be back for more. Finished with espresso, the bill came to under 146 euro between 6 people, for 3 starters, 6 mains, 4 desserts, 2coffees and 2bottles of wine. I was very impressed! We had to leave promptly, I could've lingered with another bottle of wine, but the other party had arrived. A great night was had with some genuine Italian hospitality that was otherwise not to be found.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meadhbhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Unusual (for Dublin at least) rustic Italian food. The 7 layers of chocolate for desert is one of my favourite deserts I have had.
Reasonable price and very friendly service. They have a choice of two red wines, both excellent and only €22. It is a small restaurant, the decor and furniture is in rustic (read basic) theme. It does have a nice atmosphere. Bill for two courses for three people, with one bottle of wine, was €90 including the tip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank TheCrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the type of restaurant that you would not notice passing it by. It is underground, next door to the tanning shop on Bachelor's Walk. When you walk in you get the sensation of being in your Italian grandmother humble home on the countryside. Everything is put together in the simplest way,

The food menu is short but as soon as you taste the food you recognize the products authenticity. Some products used are unobtainable in Ireland and challenging to find even in Italy (e.g. lardo di Colonnata).

The portions were perfect.
There was no wine list but the few brands available were of high quality and organic.
The desert was sublime (the 7-layers chocolate cake is a must try!).
The coffee was ok.
The service was pleasant, friendly and efficient.
The water glasses were too small (I had to get several refills).

I am definitely going back and recommend it heartily.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank izabelSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra Madre Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Terra Madre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing