We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Dublin Charmers.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tipperary House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tipperary House
Ranked #13 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Dublin Charmers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My boyfriend got this for us as a little weekend away. The staff here are one of the most friendly, happy and kind people we have ever met! We felt so welcome.

We came to see the city and this B&B is perfect for this. It is basic, but its to a nice standard. Our room may have been small & basic but it was all we needed and was spotless! The view of the mermaid and the little park, Houston and the Guinness factory was amazing to wake up to.
The room was a wee bit cold but when we asked for the heating left on, it wasn't a problem.

We are young and spent a lot of time in the temple bar area. The hotel is around 25 minutes from this walking along the river. The zoo is also 5 minutes from here! The tram is also just outside.

The breakfast is very simple, we do like a cooked breakfast better but this did the job!

If you are easy pleased and looking for a little place that is friendly and to rest for the night this is perfect.


Lauren & Aidan - Scotland.

Room Tip: If a couple! Try and get room 10 the view is so good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenBennett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flashmul, General Manager at Tipperary House, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay at the Tipperary House Dublin . I was delighted to read all of your comments, especially those about your room and about our staff. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    107
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
64
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

thanks for a nice stay all what i needed all room just been re painted so all nice and fresh
clean it good for the money has in dublin you can get cheaper but there are well out of the city
if you want the city it fine
thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank socks154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Very basic as the price suggests if you want somewhere to lay your head it's ok for that but the layout and size if rooms and shower is a big problem also pretty cold building the breakfast is fairly basic I had to go down the road to get a decent breakfast would I go again ?? No

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheekykatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flashmul, Owner at Tipperary House, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for your feed back its always good to receive comments back from our customers be it good or bad . I am sorry to hear you were not pleased with our rooms as we have just redecorated and upgraded our rooms but its possible you might have stayed with us prior to this !
Regarding the house been cold the heating is on a timer and comes on several times throughout the day and night which ensures the room are always warm which the majority of our guests are happy with.
To offer our customers the cheapest prices we include a continental breakfast not a full Irish at this invariably would push up the cost also most of our guests prefer this option .The continental breakfast consists of tea/coffee/hot chocolate and orange juice,white or wholemeal toast with breakfast marmalade and jams ,and we also have a selection of assorted yoghurts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff, quiet place, tram passing in front of the house did not bother much.The room and en-suite could do with some redecorating, and the toilet surely needs fixing as someone might fall off one day. :) Generally was what we paid for, though could have been more warmer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flashmul, Manager at Tipperary House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Daniel,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments,I am delighted to say your room is actually getting a makeover this very week .It will be totally redecorated and we will have the new pictures online soon
Thanks Again
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

"Tipperary House Budget Accomodation" is what it says on the wall outside & that's what you get inside too. Friendly welcoming staff, warm enough, clean & dry. Just what you need when on a 6 Nations weekend, after all, you're not going to be in there the whole time, just somewhere safe to get your head down. Our room had ensuite shower & toilet, satellite tv, tea & coffee making facilities...just like the 4 star hotel down the road only slightly more "homely" & an awful lot cheaper! "Continental" breakfast was tea/coffee & toast, yoghurts & cereal, all good- again, why pay for stuff you don't really need? Lastly, great location for local pubs, "chippers", etc- just opposite Heuston station, so good links to airport,City Centre, etc-recommended if you're not too fussy. Many thanks to our genial hosts, Mark & Paddy.

Room Tip: 4 bed was bunks & a small double-more like 3 bed- too small for 4 people but ideal for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

One of the finest and most welcoming places to stay as a first time visitor to Dublin. A most pleasant holiday made more enjoyable by the hospitality of the people at the hotel. Helping customers came as second nature to the staff.

Room Tip: Chat with the staff about where to go and what to do...they are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dugdales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flashmul, General Manager at Tipperary House, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review , I am delighted to read such positive feed back about your trip especially about the staff and value for money it really lets us know we are getting it right !
Kind Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here regularly when I needed to work in Dublin and away from home couple of nights a week. It offered great value and the location suited where I needed to work. Owner was helpful and accommodating when I needed him to be. Rooms are very basic but clean enough. Showers are very small so if you are in any way large framed then you'll probably need to leave the door open just to be able to wash yourself. Main noise is from the Luas passing by but that isn't too bad and stops around 12:30am. Very cheap and cheerful. A few junkies and rough types in the area but these are mostly harmless once you keep your wits about you - I never had any bother - they tend to just snipe and moan at each other - just part of inner city Dublin. Some good pubs/eateries nearby on Parkgate Street and near the Luas, Heuston Station, the Phoenix Park and the National Museum. Maybe some work's been done since I last stayed there but, if you're on a tight budget then give it a try - you probably won't do much better unless you want to use a hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flashmul, Owner at Tipperary House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hey Pandabat,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review,its nearly been a year since you stayed with us and yes we have had work done with the building since you have stayed here .We have had extensive work carried out on the showers and plumbing,we pressurizing the system to ensure our guests have powerful showers,we also installed extra water tanks in reserve so we always have enough supply for demand .The hall stairs and landing has also had a make over with new carpet throughout and wooden panelling added with a new paint scheme but in keeping with the old style of the house.
Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#64 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipperary House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipperary House

Property: Tipperary House
Address: Tipperary House 7 Parkgate Street | Opp. Heuston Train Station, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tipperary House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tipperary House is situated on Dublins Parkgate St along the banks of the river Liffey .Ideally located opposite HEUSTON TRAIN STATION and AIRLINK bus stop The Tipperary House is perfect for the weary traveller, a locally owned and family run business for over 40 years we offer guests cosy homely but quality budget accommodation.Many of Dublins tourist attractions are all within short walking distance including The Phoenix Park and Dublin Zoo, TEMPLE BAR, National Museum of Modern Art and History, KILMAINHAM GAOL, JAMESON DISTILLERY, Historical Four Courts, and of course Irelands number 1 tourist attraction The GUINNESS BREWERY!!Dublins Light Rail system (LUAS) runs right by the door bringing you right in to O Connells St (city center)in 5 mins.Luggage storage is available to the public and is free to guests. Car parking is available next door for a nominal overnight fee of 7euro or at Heuston Train Station for a nominal 24 hour fee of 7 euro there is also bicycle hire available at the gates of the Phoenix Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tipperary House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing