We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Friendly”
Review of Tipperary House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tipperary House
Ranked #10 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

As a last minute trip planned to celebrate St. Patrick's Day in Ireland, my fiance and I booked with the Tipperary House - the only availability we could find. We stayed in a 6- Bedroom dorm, with 5 of the guest being female, and the other my fiancé (which he didn't seem to mind to much). For the college dorm-like experience, it wasn't half bad. The room had its own bathroom, free WIFI, and we were able to meet two other sweet travelers. Mark and Paddy are VERY nice and gracious hosts. Tipperary is close to the train station, downtown Dublin, and bars and restaurants. For breakfast, they serve toast, oats, cereal, and yogurt.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 303 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I liked Tipperary House because it was far enough away from the city centre to get a peaceful nights rest, but close enough to go out and enjoy the heart of Dublin in no time. In saying that, the pubs and shops around this location were great in their own right. Mark and Paddy were excellent hosts, and the rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean and well taken care of. I started my trip there, and ended there as well! Very close to tram, bus and airport shuttle lines. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent almost 3 weeks on the Tipperary with a friend. Mark and Paddy they were so kind and concerned about what we ask them. The beds were very nice, the bathrooms too, everything very clean. Even it's not in the centre city it takes like 20 minutes walking straight to get there. It's not to far away. There is a LUAS (train) station very close of the B&B so in 8 minutes you are on the centre city. For breakfast they give you some toast with butter and jam, a pot of coffee or tea, yogurts, cereals and orange juice. It was really nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claudiofeles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My brother and I had a very relaxed and comfortable stay here. The private twin bedroom had lovely views of the river and the Guinness factory! The B&B is central enough to not be a pain to get to and from, but far enough away from the madness of the city centre! Being so close to a tram stop was really handy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What do you expect for 30€ a night? I expected to get a bed to sleep and a breakfast. And how was it? just great! Mark and Paddy are there for you 24/7 which turned out to be really important as the key broke in the door lock, and Paddy staid up all night, to let the guests in. Both of them are really nice and helpful and give you tips where to go to, and what to see in Dublin. The room was good, especially the free wifi access!! The Train to the city centre takes about 10 minutes, walking takes around half an hour (a bit less maybe). Only thing I didnt like so much was the breakfast. There was only toast with jam and a little cereal to eat. But I talked to Mark about it, and he told me he would make it a bit bigger. (I would have loved some brown bread with cheese and ham, maybe he will get that)
To sum it up: If I visit Dublin again, I will probably stay again in the Tipperary House!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vonbibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great price, great people, very very clean, near the national museum and guinness factory a place to visit. The bus from the airport stop about 2 minute walk, and you can walk or catch transportation to city center.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carabineiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my friends ahd a great stay here over St. Patricks Day weekend. Accomodation was very well priced and ina great location, close to the trian station and bus/tram links. Mark was very friendly and helpful with information and even when we got out key stuck in the door and they had to get it fixed, they were so nice about it! We will definatelyy being going back some day, sooner rather than later hopefully!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Poppaea1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 150 in Dublin
336 reviews
Egans House
#27 of 150 in Dublin
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 126 in Dublin
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipperary House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipperary House

Address: Tipperary House 7 Parkgate Street | Opp. Heuston Train Station, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $28 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tipperary House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tipperary House is situated on Dublins Parkgate St along the banks of the river Liffey .Ideally located opposite HEUSTON TRAIN STATION and AIRLINK bus stop The Tipperary House is perfect for the weary traveller, a locally owned and family run business for over 40 years we offer guests cosy homely but quality budget accommodation.Many of Dublins tourist attractions are all within short walking distance including The Phoenix Park and Dublin Zoo, TEMPLE BAR, National Museum of Modern Art and History, KILMAINHAM GAOL, JAMESON DISTILLERY, Historical Four Courts, and of course Irelands number 1 tourist attraction The GUINNESS BREWERY!!Dublins Light Rail system (LUAS) runs right by the door bringing you right in to O Connells St (city center)in 5 mins.Luggage storage is available to the public and is free to guests. Car parking is available next door for a nominal overnight fee of 7euro or at Heuston Train Station for a nominal 24 hour fee of 7 euro there is also bicycle hire available at the gates of the Phoenix Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tipperary House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing