We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and a fantastic welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tipperary House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tipperary House
Ranked #11 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kinsale
1 review
“Great value and a fantastic welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I found Tipperary House a little gem in the centre of Dublin, great value for money in comparison to all the overpriced hotels in the city, especially for concerts, matches etc.
Very well located near the train station for people travelling. I would highly recommend it, the welcome we received was wonderfull from Mark and Paddy, the breakfast was second and served with a smile, I cannot fault Tipperary House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinsale_Village
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    107
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
65
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bari,Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not only is it perfectly located (only 15 minutes walk from the heart of Dublin and Temple Bar) but it also has everything a B&B could offer and a top class staff. We absolutely loved our stay at Tipperary House. It was 4 of us. The room was very nice, beds were comfy and the ensuite bathroom had just anything needed. Not to mention the two gentlemen running the place were absolutely wonderful; welcoming, helpful and extremely nice. We will most definitely be there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delilah8419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The location is excellent; the hospitality and service are top notch.

It is located within walking distance of much of what Dublin has to offer.

The proprietors are also quite welcoming and will steer you in the right direction pubs/and sights wise.

We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had to come to Dublin for some work and needed somewhere close to Heuston Station and also close to the city so I booked Tipperary House. The room was very clean and the beds were so comfortable. A great extra is the breakfast in the mornings. Both Mark and Paddy were so welcoming. If you are on a budget and are looking for somewhere convenient, clean and comfortable then I would recommend this place. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had booked a bed at the tipperary house b&b because it was close to heuston station and was getting the train in the morning. My flight was due in at 11.30 at night and told this when I booked and I was asured a night porter would be in hand ti let me in when I came. My flight was delayed and didnt get to b&b till 1.30 in the morning, I rang the door bell for half an hour with no answer, porter was fast asleep! I had no where to sleep and hotel next door was full, ended up ringing a friend who collected me and brought me to his house in newbridge miles away ! Book at your peril !

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kanemylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flashmul, Manager at Tipperary House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I am sorry you feel this way about our establishment and the experience you had,it is true that you were told that the night porter would check you in on arrival however you gave your arrival time when booking between 23:00 and 23:30 our night porter checks guests in up till midnight only.
The night porter waited till after 1am for your arrival before locking up and going to bed himself he thought you were not coming as you were over 2 hrs late and you had not called the phone or emailed us to say any different.When you did call the house it was not until 2:05am when there was nobody downstairs to answer the phone as we are a guest house and not a hotel.I know you feel aggrieved at what happened but there was no deposit on the room so you did not loose any money or did we charge you for the room which a lot of places would have.Hope you understand now that we didnt just lock you out but genuinely thought you were not coming! Thanks Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The owners smoked in the property so everything smelled. The bathroom was community and had a bar of soap rather than pump...(ewww!). The kettle and surrounding area didn't look clean at all. The beds looked okay, and the owners were nice enough but the room was terrible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Moser87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipperary House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipperary House

Property: Tipperary House
Address: Tipperary House 7 Parkgate Street | Opp. Heuston Train Station, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tipperary House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tipperary House is situated on Dublins Parkgate St along the banks of the river Liffey .Ideally located opposite HEUSTON TRAIN STATION and AIRLINK bus stop The Tipperary House is perfect for the weary traveller, a locally owned and family run business for over 40 years we offer guests cosy homely but quality budget accommodation.Many of Dublins tourist attractions are all within short walking distance including The Phoenix Park and Dublin Zoo, TEMPLE BAR, National Museum of Modern Art and History, KILMAINHAM GAOL, JAMESON DISTILLERY, Historical Four Courts, and of course Irelands number 1 tourist attraction The GUINNESS BREWERY!!Dublins Light Rail system (LUAS) runs right by the door bringing you right in to O Connells St (city center)in 5 mins.Luggage storage is available to the public and is free to guests. Car parking is available next door for a nominal overnight fee of 7euro or at Heuston Train Station for a nominal 24 hour fee of 7 euro there is also bicycle hire available at the gates of the Phoenix Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tipperary House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing