We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant

The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 2,528 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $16
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional Irish Bar and Restaurant specialising in local cuisine. Live music sessions daily.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

One of my favourite pubs in temple bar for sure. I don't like that much the food - I'd rather go in another place for dinner - but I love the nights, the music, the crowd, the beer, the atmosphere. Go and enjoy the Old Storehouse for a beer with friends, listening to the irish live music in cold and rainy irish night. Nothing's better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 65Marty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Cheers and thanks for your positive review. Our food is quality Irish pub grub and we like to promote ourselves as a Traditional Irish Pub that also serves food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,931
    962
    171
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florence, AL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not the Place for a Business Event”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Old Storehouse may be fine for leisure travelers, but executing a business gathering at this restaurant was not pleasant.

The day before the event a colleague and I visited and spoke to a manager, asked to see where we might be seated. The manager on duty was not courteous and went so far as to say that our group of 20 would be moved from the restaurant to the bar after our meal so as to accommodate more diners (ie - no lingering). Luckily our party was not actually physically removed from the restaurant, but the threat hung in the air. As for event seating, the space provided was very small and not conducive to conversation. The food was decent and the service was friendly.

I want to give The Old Storehouse the benefit of the doubt and say that perhaps we simply chose the wrong venue for our dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I cant be too specific in my response to you as I dont have a record of your visit. We dont take reservations ( save in exceptional circumstances ) as we are a traditional Irish bar that also serves food. We dont have seperate restaurant and bar sections - we serve food in all areas until 9pm nightly. As a business located in the very busy Temple Bar area of Dublin we have a large passing trade. In order to facilitate those who wish to dine with us we do on occasion ask diners who have finished their meal to vacate a table and we always re-locate our guests to the area where we have continous live Traditional Irish music sessions. I note our manager made you aware of this policy the night before your function but in any event you were not moved from your table. I also note you were happy with our food and the service you recieved. In these circumstances would you reconsider amending your review of our business as a 2 star rating does seem mean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found our back here a second time while in Dublin, because the food was so good. The second time, though, we stayed for the evening. The bands were fantastic and the atmosphere was fun and exciting! We had a great time and met some wonderful people (fellow travels like ourselves).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CNRisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Great to get such a positive review and also great you came back twice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our one true pub meal in Dublin, and we loved it. Atmosphere was just right, and the food was excellent. So were the pints. Glad we went.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank penel523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are also glad you visited. Thanks for the support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best meal in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome was given by the friendly waitress who showed us to our table. My wife had the"stunning" Guinness and Beef casserole. I went for the Mussels. They arrived quickly and the quality was superb.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks Andy. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
 

Been to The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing