We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub grub”

The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 2,616 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $18
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Irish Bar and Restaurant specialising in local cuisine. Live music sessions daily from 15.00 to late.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ate here last night on the strength of the reviews. Was not disappointed. Place was very busy but still managed to get a table upstairs.
Atmosphere great, staff friendly and efficient. Food was really nice and tasty. Two of us had the Guinness casserole which was rich and sumptuous. The others had the fish and the chicken burger also delicious.
Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonaldoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Ronaldo. Many thanks for your support and recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,080
    1,023
    183
    31
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not sure what all of the fuss is about”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited here on our first night of a long weekend in Dublin on the back of the numerous good reviews on here. Our experience however left us scratching our heads as to why this place ranks so highly.

Let me start with the positives- the atmosphere was great. The place was absolutely heaving which in my view is always a good sign although we had to wait (and be rather tactile) in order to get a table. But no bother as we stood and enjoyed our drinks listening to the live music, which admittedly was excellent.

Our visit took a downwards turn when we sat down to eat. After reading rave reviews about "the best fish and chips in Dublin", we both chose those and waited in anticipation. The food took approximately 40 minutes to arrive and when it did we were both disappointed. I should point out that given how busy the place was and how good the music was, we would have had no objections waiting that long provided the food was up to scratch. But it wasn't.

The fish was clearly a piece of frozen, processed fish- not the freshly battered fish we had been expecting. I have had better fish from the freezer aisles in the supermarket. Given how long we'd already waited, we didn't want to subject ourselves to a further wait by sending it back so just tucked in but it was not enjoyable. Perhaps they had run out of their normal fish (it was busy after all and fish and chips does appear to be a popular choice), but if this was the case we should have been informed of this as opposed to being served up a poor substitute.

Wanting to give them benefit of the doubt and a little less than satisfied with our mains, we ordered the Baileys cheesecake dessert to share. We wished we hadn't. It was really warm and therefore the consistency was more akin to panna cotta than cheesecake as it was basically melting.

We had really high hopes for this place prior to eating, perhaps our expectations were too high from other reviews on here. We left thoroughly disappointed and agreed that it was the biggest letdown of our whole weekend (even moreso than finding that the Natural History and Archaeology museums were closed when we wanted to visit).

In summary, great music and a great atmosphere, but our food left an awful lot to be desired. Perhaps we visited on an off day but the best restuarants I've visted are consistently good, so I feel like we should have had the same amazing fish and chips that other reviewers speak of. Unfortunately, we didn't.

Helpful?
1 Thank lincolncouple89
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our business. We are a Traditional Irish Bar that also serves food. We don't make any fuss about what we do we simply offer an authentic pub experience and try our best to serve quality Irish produce in a friendly and efficient manner. On occasions we can get very busy but we do always keep wait times to a minimum. We do provide live Traditional Irish Music free of charge all day everyday and we encourage our customers to spend a few hours with us enjoying the atmosphere ( we don't simply feed people and turn tables as quick as we can for profit ). We are disappointed to hear our fresh beer battered Cod and chips costing €11.95 did not hit the spot for you and similarly the Baileys cheesecake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We loved the vibe in this restaurant/pub. There's live Irish music every day, which can be seen and heard from wherever you're sitting, thanks to the TV screens dotted around the place.

The food menu isn't extensive, but it offers a range of Irish staples amongst other Popular dishes. I settled on the mussels in a creamy sauce, which were delicious, and came with chips and garlic bread. My other half had a burger which he also said was good.

The service was excellent - very friendly and attentive.

We sat upstairs by the windows and were also able to listen to the live music outside. Perfect!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank U2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks and great to hear you liked what we offer so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Strongly recommend a visit”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant with our son who is living in Dublin. It was a wonderful experience. Irish music was being played live in the main bar area with sound and video piped throughout the many different areas of the restaurant. The decor and layout of the restaurant makes it very inviting with lots of small areas to dine and lots of interesting pictures on the walls, It was very full and still the service was excellent. Our food arrived very quickly and was delicious. The restaurant is located in the Temple Bar area of Dublin. Make sure you leave plenty of time to tour around this area. It is full of life and a great place for a pub crawl. We will certainly be going back to this restaurant on our next visit to Dublin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Ian. Thanks for the recommendation and we hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild Rose, Wisconsin
1 review
“Excellent !!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent!!! This place was nothing but Fantastic !!! There were 9 of us. Food and the service were Great. Really a Cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcolligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Cheers and thanks million for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing