We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & even better atmosphere!”

The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 2,665 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $18
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Irish Bar and Restaurant specialising in local cuisine. Live music sessions daily from 15.00 to late.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Everyone i was travellintg with agreed this was the best meal we had the whole trip. We were extremely impressed with the standard and the atmosphere was brilliant. Live music to sing along and very friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Megan. Many thanks for your very generous comments on our business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,194 - 2,198 of 3,458 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went here for dinner on our last night in town after reading good reviews about it. When you walk in there are a couple of tables and then stair leading up to the 2nd floor where the bar and music is with high bar tables. There is a small 3rd story with tables to eat at. I found a waiter and told him we wanted to have dinner and he told me to wait at the bottom of the stairs because he didn't have a table. I said, "No problem, we will get drinks at the bar." Soon after a table right in front of the music opened up and he told me to sit there. Now this was a high table with bar stools but the table wasn't exactly high enough for the stools they had, so it would be like eating off your lap. As I looked around, most people were just drinking in this area. There was one group eating at the same type of table and it look uncomfortable. As we were seated right in front of the music, a couple asked to share our table which I understand, but it just added to the negative experience. We finished our drinks and left for a place where we could eat at a proper table.

Thank leo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our business. We have a total of c120 regular table and chair seats in our pub and about 40 high stools. We always try to seat our guests at a table and chair location and only serve food to high stools at very busy times and at customer request. We apologise if you did not find your seating position acceptable and we will check the high stool to table levels and change if they are uncomfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Had an enjoyable evening here. Very touristy (people in from all over the world - the bar staff were the only Irish we met) but it did make for a good atmosphere, with the live musicians likewise serving up a crowd-pleasing singalong set rather than the more authentic 'trad' music experience you'll find elsewhere. The food was fine, nothing special but good by the standards you'd expect in Temple Bar and very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daveybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Old Storehouse in Dublin offers live music nightly and the music is fantastic! If you're looking for traditional Irish tunes mixed with some newer music, this should be your go-to pub in Temple Bar. They also offer free wifi and post the password on the wall, so you don't have to ask permission to log in.

The menu contains all the standard Irish pub fare- cottage pie, Guinness and beef stew, fish and chips, hamburgers... and it is fabulous! The prices were reasonable, with meals averaging about 10-12 Euros per person. Beers were about 3-5 Euros each.

Once you find a seat, grab the attention of a server- sometimes it's so busy, they might overlook you. However, it's not because they don't care; it's just they are so busy because the pub is that good!

Also, I'd like to add that hey are the only pub I found in all of Temple Bar that carried Beamish on tap... And believe me, I went into a number of pubs asking!!

When visiting Dublin, this pub is a can't-miss! If you can't find a seat on the main level, you'll have many floors to choose from...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CLUBCHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Great to hear about your positive experience and many thanks for your recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We came in through the door after hearing good music from the street and ended up in a little corner table away from the big action, but not from the sound of the music, which was a great plus. The decoration was great, but the food was beyond your normal pub fare : it was really great! Both the Guinness Stew and the mushroom pasta were excellent and priced very decently! I would have gone back if there had been time!

Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O, Owner at The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Laurence. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Old Storehouse Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing