We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Chez Max

Chez Max
Ranked #435 of 2,616 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

have been here quite a few times and it has never dissappointed. great value for money. great character and atmosphere,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnlbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    93
    30
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

When I miss home (France) I usually miss the food so Chez Max is my safe heaven. Their onion soup is hearty and the best start to a meal. Nothing beats a nice bavette (skirt steak) with frites. The carpaccio is also one of my favourite. I've sampled many items on their menu over the years and was never disappointed. Too bad the duck leg confit seems to be missing lately... The heated terrace is such a nice setting for a celebration and they keep the bread coming which is an absolute must for a French joint.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliviaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good early bird”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went here for first time with group of friends for early bird meal food was simple but very tasty and well prepared. Good value for money at 19 euro for two courses would not mind returning again for full meal. Service was friendly and efficient

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesS6523TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food accommodating atmosphere”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We ended up at Chez Max by accident. The botched reservation at another near by restaurant is a whole other story. Needless to say not a good one. Hungry on a Saturday evening in a strange city, I did not have high expectations for finding table easily. Fortunately, we stumbled on Chez Max strolling along Baggot Street. The staff was warm and welcoming.

We started with escargot and the large mixed platter, both delicious. The beef bourguignon entree was fantastic. The streak frites with sauce bearnaise and roast lamb were also excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNY-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, good value, early bird”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here with a group of 8 for the Christmas early bird. The food was really good, everyone was pleased with what they ordered. The service was exceptional, not intrusive, just everything was there when you needed it. The waitress knew the wine list well and made a great suggestion. It was the set early bird menu and was great value for €30.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpbof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Max also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chez Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing