We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Breakfast/lunch spot”
Review of Ruby Duck Cafe - CLOSED

Ruby Duck Cafe
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little Breakfast/lunch spot”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place was right across the street from the Morgan, where we stayed. They serve a great breakfast and it is not crazy expensive. Well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank f1yerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Two of us visited for breakfast, ordering a veggie Irish and a full Irish breakfast. Service was fast and friendly, with good coffee. The food was really great ("Best sausage ever" says the meat eater).

It was nice to have a small, independent cafe in Temple Bar.

Breakfast for two, with coffee, came to just under €20.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and friendly service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have been here twice with a large group for breakfast and both times the breakfast was lovely and service was great. No issue with making slight changes to what was on the menu and no shortage of tea & coffee refills and more bread being offered without having to look for it first.

Will definately be back here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paddymacwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unbeatable service but very average food.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I wish I could rate the Ruby Duck higher as the service was fantastic- friendly, cheerful, fast and very helpful and attentive. However, the food was so bland and dissappointing. I had the spaghetti carbonara which had no sauve on it (it had been cooked to the point of scrambling the eggs) and my partner got a chicken burger which he found to be really bland.)

The atmosphere is nice, Ipersonally wouldve prefered a more cosy, traditional Irish feel but I suppose there are plenty of places nearby that offer that type of feel.

Also, not much of a selection alcohol wise.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeseyPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, charming, and friendly cafe”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I love this place - I ate breakfast here every morning I was in Dublin. The food is delicious (and they have a great vegetarian breakfast) and the interior is lovely and charming. The staff is incredibly friendly and thoughtful, lending me a newspaper or magazine every morning. I will definitely go back here anytime I'm in Dublin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ariatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Duck Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing