We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”
Review of Hemmingways

Hemmingways
Ranked #412 of 2,591 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Hemmingway's. Located off the seafront, we are a restaurant with tradition and character at its heart. Seafood is the hallmark of Hemmingway's but we also offer delicious options for meat-lovers too. We always try to make the most of the freshest seasonal produce to cater for all tastes. Hemmingway's restaurant is located in the heart of Vernon Avenue, Clontarf. Just a short 10 minute drive from Dublin City Centre, accessible by bus, DART, or taxi. Opening Hours: Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday from 6:00pm. Closed on Monday and Tuesday's
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Myself and my wife have eaten at Hemingways a few times, and we have never been disappointed. Firstly, when you walk in, you are greeted by a very friendly host, who makes you feel welcome. The restaurant is small, but very cosy, and each time we have had a choice of excellent fish courses. There is also Steak and chicken dishes to choose from if you are not a fishy person. But if you do like your fish, this restaurant is a must do. The actual description of the fish specials is nearly a show in itself. My only want would be a few more choices of beers. It's great to have this little gem so close to home. Great spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 335GerardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Book before you go ...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a hidden little restaurant on Vernon Ave in Clontarf, if you didn't know where you were going you could walk by and what a shame that would be.
The focus is on fish (and our party of 4 all went this way) but there are other dishes available and judging by what we saw kept within the standard of this fish mongers' plates.
We were welcomed warmly upon arrival and the owner explained everything on the fish board; how it was cooked, what it came with and where it was from. (He knew his stuff).
On the starter menu we had homemade fish cakes; they were huge and fantastic value, definitely a winner. On the mains we all had fish and there was a choice on the board of several different dishes; monkfish, cod (2 ways), marlin, ling, seabass, halibut and another which I can't remember ... nevertheless we had 3 separate plates here and they were all fantastic - generous portions and cooked very, very well. (Even though fish reigns supreme here, not a lobster in sight). With portions this size you don't really need a lot in the sides but there was a choice of sauteed potatoes or salad. All 4 of us were well sated and deserts were just a lingering afterthought.
The wine list varies, some good wines after the house and the man knows how to make a decent espresso, (always important).
The majority of the dishes are all in the €20 + mark, with the exception of a couple so if you were to have a 3/4 course on the a la carte (Friday + Saturday only) this could up the cost; however, they do a value "Cheap + Cheerful" menu during the week along with a Sunday "Light Bites" menu.
If you want to come here, book! It is a small, cozy restaurant; no outside terrace or view but by all accounts always booked out at the weekend. By the time we arrived the A board stated, "booked out" and they were probably the only restaurant packed that Saturday night such is their reputation. Definitely going back and will stay longer ....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jennboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“If in Clontarf pleas try”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the outset and the banter on the phone I knew it was going to be an interesting night. Brian the owner greeted us like long lost friends; he was very informative explaining everything on the menu (mainly fish) and was very friendly. The restaurant had a cozy atmosphere, the food was delicious all fresh and tasty! We shared the lamb starter wish was gorgeous; including yogurt & melon........we then has the dorada and spanish hake.
I loved this place, and as we were staying in the Castle it was a nice little stroll over.
Please try if in the area, it looks like the cooks, staff and owner are all trying their best and have the ingredients that make this place work.
Our bill was around 80euro, included a bottle of wine and a coke

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fish and great atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous fresh fish menu in this small restaurant. The owner is warm and welcoming and the decor is gorgeous with a great wine selection. A hidden gem!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CAST_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lovely place,if you are into fish this is the place to go,great wine list,and very friendly staff.It is in the village of Clontarf.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank skipper153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemmingways also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Hemmingways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing