We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions”
Review of Beech Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beech Lodge B&B
Ranked #8 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Excellent. This B&B was a welcome home after traveling for 30 hours with a 12 hour layover in Atlanta. The room was ready early; a delightful and unexpected surprise. We were greeted with enthusiasm, tea, and conversation. All questions were answered with honesty, accuracy, and that charming Irish wit. Everything was perfect; everything. This wonderful first impression of Ireland's hospitality and charm will remain with us forever. Thank you.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Beech Lodge B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 368 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I have spent our babymoon in Dublin, and because of the good reviews, have chosen the Beech Lodge B&B. And we were more than happy with our choice! Gerry is the best host you can imagine, he loves to answer all your questions with patience, explains you everything you want to know about history and sightseeing with so much passion - really unique!
Our room was very cosy and super clean and we got fresh towels every day. The living room and breakfast room are very cosy and clean as well, we spent a lot of time there in the morning having breakfast (Gerry is a great cook and prepares very tasty breakfast!), chatting with Gerry and other guests - this is the B&B spirit we love and enjoy!!
Gerry has prepared little cards with route descriptions to many different tourist attractions, also with bus connections to the tourist attractions, so you don´t have to worry much about getting around in Dublin and around Dublin.
There is no doubt that we will come back to the Beech Lodge B&B, next time we are in Dublin!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carounderwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We are from Minnesota and spent 12 days touring Southern Ireland. As it was a circular trip, we began and ended our trip at Gerry’s Beech Lodge B&B. We think of our time in Ireland often and are always greeted with fond memories of Beech Lodge and Gerry!

We had never stayed at a B&B before, but can honestly say it was the best choice we could have made. It never occurred to us how much of a role our host (Gerry) could play in our vacation. He went well out of his way to insure our happiness. Not only was he the right mix of helpful (but not intrusive), he also had insights into all sorts of things we wouldn't have even thought to ask.

Best bus routes, pubs, sites, all of that of course, but he even mentioned certain attractions that had disappointed his other guests. Everything he shared with us proved to be spot on. The accommodations were great, the food was excellent and by some amazing coincidence the first other guests we met there were from Wisconsin (Border state to Minnesota).

I would have given this place a top score based only on the food, accommodations, and very fair pricing. Having Gerry there to add such a warm and personal touch to everything made this an incredible experience. He has set a very high bar for the next time we stay at any B&B.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Everything was perfect!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in September of 2013. This place is beautiful and 5 minutes from the zoo. The breakfast was great and with great choices on his menu. We would definitely stay here again and this time for more than 1 night!

Ryan and Lisa

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at Beech Lodge on arrival to Dublin. Gerry is a gracious host and serves a great breakfast. He was happy to give us information about the area and the local restaurants are terrific! It's outside town but it's close to the bus line. Gerry was able to give us good information about getting to and from the city, the airport and other points of interest.

The Beech Lodge is very quiet, very clean and very welcoming. It's also very quiet. If you want to stay in the middle of the city, this is not for you. If you want to feel as though you're actually in Ireland and not the tourist center, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pagopops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The House: From the moment we stepped in the door and were greeted by Gerry, we felt at home. We were received in the lovely, comfortable guest sitting room which also had a computer and internet access for guests to use. The house itself was lovely, super clean, soft and cozy.

Our room: We stayed in room One at the front of the house overlooking the main road. As soon as I walked into the room it felt "beautiful" - a very nice ambience which made you feel at home. It had beautiful bedding and drapes and a lovely softly scented aroma - perfect. Although the wardrobe was small, there was plenty of drawer space in the room, perfectly adequate for our 3-night stay. The water jar by the bed was a nice touch in a lovely Kilner glass bottle. Also tea and coffee, milk and biscuits, very nice.

I was concerned initially about the room overlooking the main road as I could hear the traffic but I need not have worried, I slept like the proverbial 'log' and I am a light sleeper. The bed was very comfortable, a very firm mattress, firm pillows as well, nice! I was not aware of any traffic noise once my head hit the pillow, so that was great! The en-suite toilet/shower-room was super clean. Fresh white towels every day if required. (Our son stayed in room two, a slightly smaller room overlooking the back, therefore a much quieter room).

The Breakfast: Scrumptious! An excellent choice of varied hot breakfasts was on offer, along with the usual cereals, juice, yogurts etc. We sampled a different hot main dish each day, all delicious and freshly cooked by Gerry to order.

The Service: Nothing was too much trouble for Gerry who was always friendly, helpful and informative, detailing the area, the main places of local interest. He even provided us with a miniature map of downtown Dublin, detailing where the bus-stops were situated for the return journey back to the B&B (a 15 min or so bus ride).

We would certainly choose to stay here again whenever we return to Dublin, which we assuredly will do in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilsbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I can't think of anything bad to say about Beech Lodge. No matter how many times people write it, it's true. Gerry is the best. He made us feel at home, gave great recommendations for things in and around Dublin, and served a great Irish breakfast.

When we checked in, we talked with Gerry for about 30 minutes. He asked great questions about our trip, our interests, and what we hoped to get out of our time so that he could give tailored recommendations to us. All were top notch.

The place is SUPER clean, was three blocks from Phoenix Park, and in a great neighborhood just outside the city centre.

We can't recommend this place enough. In just a short period of time, Gerry made us at home. Without exaggeration, he felt like family. We can't wait to get back to Dublin and stay at Beech Lodge!

Room Tip: Ask Gerry for a quiet room if you're a light sleeper. Rooms to the back of the B&B are quie...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishRob118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
3.5 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
2.4 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 149 in Dublin
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 149 in Dublin
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#12 of 149 in Dublin
298 reviews
2.0 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#26 of 149 in Dublin
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Lodge B&B

Address: 219 Navan Road | Ashtown, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Lodge Bed and Breakfast, Dublin 7, Ireland. We invite you to enjoy a unique experience in the heart of Dublin, Ireland. If you are searching for a quality bed and breakfast accommodation in the area of Dublin, then you have found it. All of our prices include full bed and breakfast. Our B & B accommodation is competitively priced for the Dublin area. A warm welcome awaits you at Beech Lodge Bed and Breakfast in Dublin. Our relaxed and informal ambiance makes it the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure. Located on the Navan Road, Beech Lodge bed and breakfast is just 12 minutes from Dublin city centre and 15 minutes from Dublin airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing