We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably a good choice if visiting Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Probably a good choice if visiting Dublin”
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed in the Alexander this week despit living only 6 or so miles away as our company had some meetings. due to this I probably won't have had the usual experience but I was quite impressed with the hotel. Room was nice though I ended up in a twin and would have preferred a bigger bed. Didn't have dinner here but lunch on two days was very good. Breakfast was the usual buffet fare and was fine. No complimentary papers apart from the freebies was one small quibble. Hotel is well located near Merrion Sq and a short walk from Trinity College, grafton st etc and is very close to the Dart with Pearse St station around the corner. Would be a good choice if you're looking for a city centre hotel that would be in a quieter area and can recommend the Gingerman pub across the road

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — I got stuck in a twin room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gallaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    497
    179
    82
    39
See reviews for
153
479
46
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SarahRosario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I am a New Yorker, so naturally my expectations are high! We stayed for 9 days. We got a great deal on travelocity. 1100 each! I was very pleased by this hotel. My partner and I arrived before check-in and we only had to wait 10 minutes in the lobby for a room. The room was large and very clean. The water pressure was strong. The pictures on this site are exactly what you'll get, ony the room is bigger in person. It is walking distance from the city center. You can walk to Trinity college in less then 5minutes. There is a store around the block where you can buy snacks and beer. The hotel has an information desk where you can plan all your trips, and you can be picked up at the hotel aswell. The room service was descent. The only time we used it was for midnight snacks (sandwhiches) and ice. At first I was afraid the hotel would be horrible. So i searched this site hoping for accurate depictions. So i just wanted to help fellow travelers along the way. Highly reccomended!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahRosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishop's stortford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

My wife and I stayed one night at the O'Callaghan Alexander and had an excellent time. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming when we arrived early, at 11am, and let us take our room then, enabling us to leave our bags before heading off for sightseeing. We had lunch at the hotel in the relaxing and spacious lounge area near reception. Later we had afternoon tea there and then coffee the next morning and lunch again - so we rated it highly for comfort and convenience. The room was large, the bed enormous and the fixtures and fittings all good quality and to our liking. Breakfast cost extra on our rate but was well worth it, served efficiently and plentifully in the restaurant. At checkout time, a generous 12 noon, they agreed to keep our bags until later in the day (we had a late flight out). The hotel was well placed for a short walk into the city centre, yet quiet at night. It was also close to the airbus drop-off point and to the Dart station at Pearce Street. We had dinner at a nearby hotel in the same chain, the O'Callaghan St Stephen's Green, and that was very good too. All in all, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ms9560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on this website and were not disappointed.
Easy access from Dublin Airport using Air coach which stops at Merrion Square and the drivers know where all the Hotels are.

When we arrived our room was not ready and we were told it would be about an hour. We went for a walk and when we returned the young man called us over to give us our keycard. The room turned out to be a smoking room and we had to call reception as we wanted non smoking, No problem. A new room was soon found. The room was clean and the bed was massive.

We enjoyed breakfast which is buffet style and caters well for both large and small eaters. Also served until 10.15 for later risers. (Us)

There is a nice bar and a large relaxing lounge with big comfy sofas. Although the drinks seemed expensive there was little price difference to those charged in other local pubs who clearly charge tourist prices.
Hotel is within walking distance of main areas but if you don't want to walk the taxi fare to Oconnell Street is reasonable.
We have stayed at the Davenport before which is also a nice Hotel but this one has the edge. We would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreeneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2007

The hotel is located in a quiet corner a couple of steps from Merrion sq. Excellent single rooms with a big bed. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast is the same every morning though.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Belonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

If you want a nice, clean hotel that has a great staff, no probems at check in/out, is QUIET at night, yet still withing walking distance to all the great areas in Dublin (Temple Bar, Grafton St, St Stephens' Green, Trinity College, etc...) this is the place!

It's a wonderful hotel and I am rating it a 5 - but mind you this is not a "luxury hotel". However, the rooms are much bigger that the Clarence, but not as "fancy" (or expensive). Just a heads up - if you want something decadent, go to the Four Seasons, If you want a wonderful hotel with everything BUT the decadence, go here!

We stayed in the Alexander's 'Laurel Suite' for a few nights over New Years Eve. Everything was wonderful! Great staff, wonderful bar and food, And I have to say some of the best coffee I've ever had!

The suite was very nice. Huge bathroom wih big bath and seperate (powerful!) shower. Lots of room at the sink for toiletries. Bathroom was stocked with nice shampoo, lotion, etc.

Suite was spacious with 3 windows, comfy couch and chairs, and a desk area. Coffee/tea kettle with a wonderful assortment of teas, sugars, etc. Everything was so clean and new. Carpets, walls, bedding - all were in perfect condition.

Nice sized bedroom with lots of closet space and a nice dresser as well. And the beds are so comfortable! There is a TV in the living room as well as the bedroom. Great reception as well!

What a treat to get up in the morning, take a nice bath and relax with a fresh cup of coffee while watching the morning news! I felt so at home.

The Alexander really spoiled us!

We stayed in Dublin again last year for 2 weeks and stayed at the O'Callaghan Court Apartments that they own, down the street. No reviews here yet on them, but they were FANTASTIC!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank brachanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2007

What a great hotel, first time in Dublin and have stayed in many a hotel. The lobby is massive and what a smile from the receptionist when i came to check in. I went to my bedroom and found a very large bed which i would have loved to have taken home.The hotel offer broadband and wireless at a very low cost. The bar is a trendy place called Winners, which serves a great pint of Guinness. Hope to stay here again soon when back in Dublin.

  • Liked — The big comfortable beds
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayadivisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing