We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Ranked #62 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had two nights at the end of our trip to Ireland in this hotel. We found it clean, welcoming and the location enabled walking to see sights of the city. The room met all of our needs. I was especially impressed with Sara, the young woman at the desk who greeted us. After a long day she was a ray of Irish sunshine that warmed my heart. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us.
Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a realy good hotel. Kingsize and lovely bed, verry complete room (even with a EU and US power socket) a iron and telephone in the bathroom.
The rooms are low noise. The breakfastbuffet is complete, so you can have a comfortable stay in this hotel.
One point was a frustration for me: no free internet! The hotel sourced the internet out. Only the first 30 minutes are free, but when you don't log out on a proper way, this 30 minutes are gone after a quick email check.
Advice to the hotelmanager: give your quests free (and fast!) internet and you get a fat 10 points!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCWNetherlandsNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us in O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and our food and beverage offerings, but I am dissapointed you had a problem with our Wifi, but you will be glad to hear that this is a problem we are trying to solve.

We look forward to welcoming youback to O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel Dublin in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice hotel with good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean room with king size bed and well appointed bathroom. Only issue was only 30 minutes of free wi-fi within a 24 hour period. Even the bed and breakfasts we stayed in had free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us in O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room.
I take your compliments of the team with pride please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel nice, friendly honest staff, left ipad & £200 in safe and kept it for me for a month until I was back down, fine location nice & easy walking distance to town and few pound in taxi from temple bar,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and sharing some observations of the hotel and your experience here. I take your compliments of the team with pride.
I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.


Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel has a great location and is with in walking distance to many of Dublins attractions. There are lots of great local pubs with free Wifi with in a 5 minute walk. It is just around the corner from the Dart (light rail system) and also close to stops for the hop on hop off bus tour. The hotel was clean, well taken care of and the staff were always smiling and willing to help out whenever they could!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for having stayed with us on this occasion and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of The O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for your lovely comments! I am happy you found the staff very friendly, our location very central. We hope you had a fabulous time in Dublin and I look forward to have the privilege of welcoming you back again

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I came to Dublin from Michigan U.S. for a family wedding where the reception was held at the Alexander. We stayed on site for convenience but was the smartest, best and most wonderful decision EVER. All other family members who chose not to stay there were extremely jealous of the luxury, the comfort and the elegance that we enjoyed for the same price they were paying and we were right there where all the action was.
The room was clean and comfortable. Each night was a good night's sleep because it was so quiet, it was like no one was there but us. Hotel staff were great, especially Mairead. She was very friendly, thoughtful and helpful...our stay would not have been as enjoyable without her kindness.
Overall, our stay at the Alexander was great and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Warm Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Although we stayed only the night before our departure for home, we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and spacious, and the staff courteous. The location is convenient, within an easy walk to many of Dublin's attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzytraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel .

I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your most kind comments regarding our team, and rest assured I will be sharing your feedback, as there is no better motivator than the praise of 'a job well done.'

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards,

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,509 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,210 reviews
The Address at Dublin 1
#94 of 150 in Dublin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $166 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing