We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the crack”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Ranked #61 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love the crack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

To whom it may concern,

We stayed last year on a trip to Dublin in this hotel and have to say this is a real great location and a real good functional hotel with nice smiley team members.
Great comfort and excellent facilities.
Keep it up and hope to stay one day again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank DesertDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandergm, General Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2008
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    483
    174
    77
    35
See reviews for
149
456
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

We needed to stay in Dublin for one night at the end of our trip, and wanted it to be withing walking distance of everything. We found a good rate on Expedia, but decided to call and book directly. They offered the same rate, and a discounted rate at the carpark down the street. We were happy with the hotel from the moment we arrived. They checked us in early; our room was spotless and very comfortable. We had no complaints, and would definitely go back there again.

  • Liked — New, clean and comfortable
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eos_domestic_goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed 3 nights (Fri, Sat & Sun) in the Alexander hotel in April and couldn't fault the hotel. The location is great, set on a quiet side road, around the corner from the airlink bus stop (so easy to find from the airport), a short walk to some great bars and the shopping area and only 10 min's walk to the hustle and bustle of Temple Bar.

We arrived way earlier than the check in time but there was a room ready for us so we could check in straight away.

The hotel staff were knowledgeable of the local area and always willing to assist.

The room was nice, not the most luxurious room I’ve had but more than adequate. Flat screen TV, Tea & Coffee facilities and an iron & board in each room was useful.

Breakfast was lovely, a good choice of hot & cold delights to help get over the Guinness hangover!!

Only point I have to note is the bar prices. It's more expensive than most of the bars we went in, and Dublin is an expensive city to drink in at the best of times.

All in all a good time was had by all. I'd definitely stay here again

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bar prices
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b8njw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I were finishing up our two weeks in Ireland with a couple of days in Dublin when, on Thursday evening, I began passing a kidney stone. The Alexander Hotel management and staff were wonderful. Not only did they arrange for a doctor to come to the hotel to see me, but they also let us stay an extra night in the hotel at our pre-arranged rate after I was advised not to travel.

Further, my husband told me that each time he went to make an inquiry or get breakfast, the front desk staff asked about me.

All of this is in addition to the large room, comfortable bed, and convenient location.

When we return to Dublin (which we'll do as I didn't get to see the city!), we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank riverspiritinatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

We went for a weekend break to Dublin, staying at the Alexander Hotel. I cannot fault the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, politeness of the staff and volume and quality of the Breakfasts. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of most of the attractions, but if you don't like walking - use the sightseeing bus. We had a very enjoyable weekend, especially as it was St Patricks Day during our visit until we came to pay the bill....
Unfortunately, as with most of us, the Credit Card is already authorised and we know the cost so a cursory glance at the bill is all that is required.
Please, Please, Please DON'T do this here.
I was expecting my account to be settled in Euro's, when I returned home I checked my account only to find they had billed me in Euro's but charged my account in GB Pounds and an exorbitant exchange rate + 3% handling fee. I have made contact with the hotel by email expressing my displeasure, and to me it is a simple transaction to credit an account in GBP and redebit in Euro's.
Not at this Hotel. All I am told is that they cannot change the transaction.
I am left with an exorbitant overcharge and what should have been a good time has been soured by what I would class as very poor customer relations by their Front of House Manager.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheltenhamSKI_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

This hotel left me with mixed feelings. On one hand it had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in but on the other hand the front desk wasn't able and wouldn't try to tell me where I could purchase postage stamps. Also, I received messages that were never delivered to me. This cost me a meeting with a fellow traveler . The location of this hotel was within walking distance to everything so I would probably stay here again but I would not expect much from the staff at the front desk.

  • Liked — Th location and the super comfy bed
  • Disliked — the lack of service from the front desk
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sksaledtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

Excellent hotel, location great for city centre. Rooms quiet, clean and comfortable. Lovely large bed with quilt, so no fighting with top sheets and blankets. Small flat screen tv in room with good choice of channels. Breakfast excellent, plenty of choice from your continental to the full Irish or why not try everything! (Had been put off by a few comments from earlier reviewers re the breakfast but we decided to give it ago and we weren't disappointed). Found the staff friendly and courtious, even @ 3am when coming in from a night out with friends! We didn't use the restaurant or bar but did notice in the reception area lots of comfortable looking sofa's where I am sure you could enjoy a quiet drink or two and watch the world go by.
If you are looking for anywhere to eat for a quick snack, can totally recommend Eddie Rockets in South Anne Street, off Grafton Street (opposite the Phil Lynott statue). An american diner type restaurant. We only had a burger but boy was it good. The best we have ever tasted. Went back for breakfast as up too late for the hotel restaurant.
Would certainly consider this hotel for our next trip to Dublin. There are 2 sister hotels yards from this hotel, which look just as good but they are just off a busy junction, so probably wouldn't consider them incase of traffic noise.
Booked direct through hotel website, got a good price.

  • Liked — Location, good price and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank westlife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing