We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Ranked #62 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our stay hear started out a little strange. My parents were given their room key, went up to their room and there was a couple sitting on the bed smoking, on a non smoking floor! They quickly shut the door and went down to the front desk where the receptionist said they had the wrong room number. Which didn't explain why the key worked or why they were smoking on a non smoking floor. She then tried to give them a room on the same floor which they said no to obviously because of the smoke. After the room situation was sorted out the stay was fine.

This hotel is what you would expect from a big chain. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the location is within walking distance to Trinity college and Grafton street. Basic buffet breakfast. The one thing that was above average was the manager (can't remember his name). He was so helpful with restaurant recommendations and making sure everything was to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandergm, General Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Sarah G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and i am glad to read that the Duty Manager was helpful and was able to assist you on restaurant booking. Please contact me at you convenvience at alexandergm@ocallaghanhotels.com

Kind Regards
Declan Fitzgerald
General Manager,
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our trip here was lovely. 4 stars plain and simple. Great breakfast, wonderful and helpful staff (booked a day tour for us and helped with many things). The location was absolutely perfect and central to everything we wanted to walk to. If we are back anytime in the future we would stay here again (and we are very picky travelers).
Gym was decent for a small hotel, fridge with a minibar, and clean and tidy rooms that are larger than average for a UK hotel - along with comfy king size beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandergm, General Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear brentond,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and am delighted to read the team member were helpful in booking various tours during your stay. i am glad to read the location was of benefit to you and hope to welcome you back in the near future to O'Callaghan Hotels.

Kind Regards
Declan Fitzgerald,
General Manager,
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, rooms are basic. WIFI costs over 14 euros for two days, that is not clear on website. They do not give mat for tub unless requested, I fell in the tub getting in, much too high, I don't know how anyone elderly would take a shower. My mom was with me and she is 79, I would never let her try to get in there. The staff is pleasant and try to please. Ok they did not replenish the toilet paper and when I asked the staff they said they did not have any, they were waiting for it, really, you are a hotel, go to the supermarket if you are out of it. The breakfast buffet is good, but staff disorganized, had to ask several people before we could get coffee. Overall with all the choices in Dublin, I feel you could do better, it's not like the hotel is cheap, it's expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mldankese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandergm, General Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Mldankese,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor and am glad to read that the staff members were helpful to you during your stay. Please contact me at your convenvience at Alexandergm@ocallaghanhotels.com to discuss some of your comments.


Kind Regards
Declan Fitzgerald,
General Manager,
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our first stop on a tour with CIE. Very cordial staff. Good location for sightseeing and shopping. Restaurant was very good. Breakfast buffet had a nice assortment of food, whatever your preference for breakfast. Their raspberry jam was delicious. Dinner also offered some good options. Room was modern and very clean. Would recommend this hotel. It is just off the main thoroughfare so it does not have the street traffic noise some other locations may have. Had a very nice 2 days here

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLK1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandergm, General Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear MLK1357,

Thank you for posting your very kind comments on Tripadvisor and we are delighted you enjoyed you stay in the O'Callaghan Alexander.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the O'Callaghan Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Declan Fitzgerald,
General Manager,
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A really smart hotel ,with great service and clean rooms.
Beds were a bit soft and we had a small problem with really slow internet when trying to print our boarding cards but otherwise i would recommend it highly.
The area was just far enough away from temple bar to be accessible but quiet.also great for grafton st /aviva arena /st stephens green
we didnt try the food ,the gym was small.

Room Tip: we had a second floor room ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you sincerely for taking a moment of your time to share some observations of the hotel and your experience here.

I take your compliments of the team with pride.Our location is quite central with us being only a 5 minute walk from Grafton Street, St Stephen’s Green and other great places for sight seeing!

Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotel's facilities and services and I have shared your comments with our team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our CIE tour. The hotel was in a good location for walking to some of the sights (Museum, Oscar Wilde statue). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was standard, but very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel .

I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your most kind comments regarding our team, and rest assured I will be sharing your feedback, as there is no better motivator than the praise of 'a job well done.'

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind Reards
Ken Leahy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were so looking forward to our last two nights in Ireland after staying in some great hotels and seeing some beautiful historical sights. We arrived and found the hotel, with no valet service or directions to a car park. Maybe everyone arrives on foot. Okay, so I'll deal with it. At the reception we're given only one key to the room.... And charged €1 for water. "Welcome!" No help with baggage.... Room very basic and nice size, but no luggage rack, and no extra anything. No surprises here... You got your basic needs met. I was expecting more I guess.
It has a great location, but that is why I gave it a "2" rating.
I felt like we were interrupting the receptionist. Make no mistake, this is a basic needs place. Nothing fancy, nothing special. Not horrid, just forgettable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room whenever you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you sincerely for taking a moment of your time to share some observations of the hotel and your experience here. I am disappointed to hear of the interactions you had that failed to meet expectation.

I can assure you that we continue to strive for perfection in everything we do and training of our teams is very much part of this. I do hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dublin and to showing you that we can deliver top class, service at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel .

If I can be of any further assistance to you, please contact me kenneth.leahy@ocallaghanhotels.com.

Regards and thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,512 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,212 reviews
The Address at Dublin 1
#93 of 150 in Dublin
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $166 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing