We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Alexander was perfect for its location to downtown Dublin, Trinity College, and access to tourist bus routes as well as the DART station. The staff was more than accommodating and helped us on more than one occasion with our plans. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the rooms were comfortable and even had electric outlets for America-style plugs. We would recommend staying at the Alexander to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us in O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and our food and beverage offerings. Most importantly, it is wonderful that you had a great experience in the hotel. Thank you for your comments; I will share them with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel Dublin in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    493
    178
    80
    37
See reviews for
152
468
46
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Alexander. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. Breakfasts were very good. Location was excellent. Very close to Trinity college, pubs, restaurants, shopping and bus system. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Furniture was old, but okay. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coprincessret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon TYne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The first impression of this hotel is one of refinement. The reception staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is close to the Georgian part of Dublin, so it is in an area of wide streets and squares. Look more closely and the bedrooms and furnishings are a little past their sell by date. The hotel makes a charge for Internet access, which after paying a tidy sum for the privilege of staying there, is very annoying.
My biggest issue with this hotel was the fire alarm. It sounded three times from 23.30 until 07.15. Guests had to leave their beds. The staff did not appear to know what to do and there was no evidence of a coordinated evacuation of the building. I am glad these were false alarms because on the evidence of this, I would have concerns about their handling of a real emergency. Apparently, there was a fault with the alarm system; fair enough, these things happen. But there was no explanation to the guests, no apology and no offer of any form of compensation. Draw your own conclusion.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_B1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandergm, General Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Europeantraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my aplogies for the less than satisfactory service and customer care that you received during your stay with us.We at the O'Callaghan Alexander hotel strive to ensure that all of our customers receive friendly, efficient service in comfortable surroundings. It is clear from your review that during your stay this did not happen and for this i am truley sorry. Please contact me directly at your leisure to discuss your points.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Kind Regards

Declan Fitzgerald,
General Manager,
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Upon first impressions this hotel is really nice. The hotel lobby is very stylish and the staff on reception very welcoming. My daughter and I stayed in a STANDARD twin room.
This hotel is rated 4 stars but it should probably be a 3 or 3.5 star, based on the numerous 4 star hotels we've visited.
The room could be classed more of a motel room. The decor is nice and the room is spotless and clean, however it's quite stuffy. The window only opens a little which may be due to the fact that we're on the first floor and overlooking the roof of the ground floor...as well as the office workers in the next building.
There is an air-conditioner/heater in the room which heats well but doesn't really cool the room. Lighting could be improved, the reading lights over the bed are like spotlights rather than reading lights - guaranteed to keep up partners or children as the room becomes quite well lit.
There is only the minimum supplied. Tea and coffee facilities (no biscuits) and importantly, no minibar or bar fridge - this is the first time we've stayed 4 star without having a minibar.
Beds were soft as were the pillows (a bit tired even), which was a concern at first. Beds only had 1 pillow each and there was only 1 spare pillow in the wardrobe (for a twin room...). A spare blanket was on each bed. After our first nights sleep we found that the beds were quite comfortable in fact and had big fluffy doona covers which were warm but not overheating.
There is also a trouser press and iron in a purpose built cupboard. Room safe was small and just fitted my 11" laptop and camera etc. Large double wardrobe. Bathroom spotless but bring your own toiletries; they only provide the very basics. Toilet roll kept falling off the holder every time it was used.
Housekeeping were friendly and efficient - not at all intrusive.
Internet access is expensive - offered in blocks of time starting at €1.99 for 2 hours up to €11.99 for 24 hours. Be aware that any block of internet starts and finishes from the time you use it - you can't use it half an hour here and half an hour there over the space of the day.
Also be aware that if you book a pay per view movie at €5.95 you have to sit there and watch it. You don't have access to it for 24 hours as is usually the case. We hired a movie on the first night and fell asleep after 20 mins, only to find out the next day that we couldn't continue on with the movie; and the fellow on reception was quite unhelpful and unwilling to credit the initial charge but specified we'd have to pay twice to watch it. Unusual and annoying.
Overnight the fire alarm went off at midnight, 2am and again at 7am. Each time during the night there were no staff on the floor to advise it was a false alarm. By the 3rd time it was cry wolf - until we realised it wasn't going to stop. At that point we went downstairs and were asked to go across the street (in our pyjamas) to another of their hotels where they did provide complimentary breakfast. It was a false alarm again but they weren't able to stop the piercing siren until the fire dept had a look. Fair enough these things happen but still annoyed that we weren't kept up to date.
The staff in the bar were very pleasant and the girl who served us lunch on our first day was very friendly and couldn't do enough.
It appeared that the hotel was largely used for the purpose of seminars and conferences and facilities overall were average, clean and modern-ish.
10 minute relaxed walk to Temple Bar area, 5 if you're keen or cold!
I would only stay here if there wasn't anything nicer or I was here overnight for a conference; not ideal for a longer stay for a holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to something better than standard and require a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed there for a week. Nice rooms - not very luxurious, but comfortable and clean. Good location close to center - 10-20 min walk to Trinity College, museums, shellbourne, etc. Good, friendly service and nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent staff...clean...good size for two people...great location. Would be 5/5 if they gave the rooms a face-lift - everything looks dated/worn. Super easy to walk everywhere and had the best fish and chips of my life next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaK-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.


Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice hotel with enormous bed. Quiet, apart from the AC / heater that kept on making sudden noises. Disappointed that Wifi is not included in the price, it is not exactly a bottom of the range hotel. Also, room was very hot! Still a lovely place to stay and good comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aasemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing