We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place for breakfast and brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bakehouse

The Bakehouse
Ranked #41 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At The Bakehouse we aim to offer traditional, flavoursome, homemade Irish foods and baked goods. Classic food from a simpler time, that our parents and grandparents grew up on. The sort of food that give comfort similar to a good hug. Simple....but epic all at once. Our foods and baked goods are freshly prepared in our kitchen and bakery in Dublin City Centre. Every day we lovingly bake all of the breads and cakes, we homemake all of the soups, sauces and relishes etc to make sure we give you the best and freshest home cooked flavours.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really nice place for breakfast and brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I went there for breakfast (I read some good reviews about this place) and it was better than I expected!

Best:

* Food is delicious, I asked for pancackes (2 with maple syrup, raspberries and fresh banana), it was huge and very tasty.
* Staff is really nice and They serve very fast (5 minutes in my case).
* Nice view of the quay and de Ha'penny bridge, with a great location in the city centre, so after that you can go shopping or for a walk.
* They are specialised in breakfasts and brunch.

Worst:

* The area is usually full of tourists and if you seat outside you will have a lot of people starring at you eating all the time. They have a very nice fence but seems inefficient for this purpouse, maybe They need a higher "wall" that doesn't hide the view but keeps the customers privacy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kabute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    103
    26
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
476 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to grab a bite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This relaxing little, pink painted spot is just what we look for when on vacation. A restaurant with local people,local food, home made comfort dishes,and good atmosphere.That described The BakeHouse perfectly! We stopped in for a late lunch,and really enjoyed the eclectic decor of soda shoppe meets girly funk.The music is a great mix of 50's and 60's and 70's,from the USA,which adds to the ambience.
We ordered roast beef sandwiches, and enjoyed every bite; their bread for this sandwich was a farmhouse wheat style,and the ingredients were wonderfully fresh. The sandwiches are large, so sharing is easy. The staff is friendly,and our food came quickly.
The bakery counter is inviting, but we were full from lunch, so we decided to take a few treats to share later, and enjoyed a chocolate cupcake,and an apple bar; both were very good, and not overly sweet.
Stop in to BakeHouse for a meal, or to take home of loaf of their wonderful bread for great sandwiches at home. Don't miss BakeHouse,when you're in Dublin!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joboxer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The other great reviews were well deserved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to this cafe style restaurant next to the Liffey on the basis of other trip advisor reviews. What a fab place for brunch. My husband had smoked salmon and scrambled egg on soda bread. Hot, freshly cooked and ENORMOUS portion. He couldn't finish it. Coffee was fab too and my egg and bacon was also well cooked and generous. Nice waitresses and attractive surroundings. Great value in an overpriced city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Greeted at the door by friendly staff, had a simple menu, easy to understand. Coffee exceeded my expectations, had the seafood chowder which was simply amazing! Affordable prices, nice range of cakes, I can't say enough good things about this place! 10/10, keep up the good work

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazL_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ate lunch here today with two friends. I hadn't had breakfast and was quite hungry! Ordered the any soup/any sandwich deal and had the soup of the day - mushroom - and a corned beef sandwich on thick bloomer bread. The soup was hot and delicious and the sandwich was perfect. I also had a cappuccino. A lot of the time I find cappuccinos are served lukewarm, but this one was hot and well made. The staff were friendly and my friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our lunch here.

My only niggle is that the room got very noisy. When we went to the counter to settle the bill the noise seemed much less. We were sitting at a table against the right wall as you walk in. Maybe it was something to do with our position in the restaurant?

Glanced at their cakes on the way out and they looked wonderful. Will be back to try one or two!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinLass41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakehouse also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing