We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute”
Review of The Bakehouse

The Bakehouse
Ranked #48 of 2,617 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Irish, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At The Bakehouse we aim to offer traditional, flavoursome, homemade Irish foods and baked goods. Classic food from a simpler time, that our parents and grandparents grew up on. The sort of food that give comfort similar to a good hug. Simple....but epic all at once. Our foods and baked goods are freshly prepared in our kitchen and bakery in Dublin City Centre. Every day we lovingly bake all of the breads and cakes, we homemake all of the soups, sauces and relishes etc to make sure we give you the best and freshest home cooked flavours.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cute”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had my final brunch in Dublin at The Bakheouse. This place is adorable, a mix of retro and modern interior. Staff are friendly, happy to take pictures/give directions, food did take a while to arrive though. I didn't get to sample the baked goods but they looked very inviting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    116
    36
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burry port
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fab for breakfast/brunch”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

we have just spent a weekend in dublin for the rugby. we ate at this restaurant on 2 mornings out of 3. it was a great find with lush food and service. the meal set us up for the day and the girls working there were very friendly. the toilets were spotless also . well done x

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebarnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A quick, filling lunch - and a cupcake”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband had the seafood chowder (which was good, but would have been better with more smoked haddock and less salmon) and I had a baked potato topped with bacon, Dubliner cheese, tomato relish and chives (also good, but a bit dominated by the relish). Service was friendly, but a little slow; this may have been because we sat outside. While our lunches were tasty, they paled in comparison to the sticky toffee cupcake we took with us for dessert!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great comfort food and cupcakes”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We found this little place by accident whilst looking for a late lunch. Good hearty food that really hit the spot on a typical cold Irish day. We had the Beef and Guinness pie and Chicken and Leek soup followed by some cupcakes. Very happy with our selections although we may try something different when we go back today!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

In 2012, I had the priviledge to eat at this restaurant a few times. The only way to describe the food in this restaurant would OMG after the first swallow! While my family tried the delicious chicken, I had a steak pie which was an explosion of taste buds in my mouth!! I don't think I can be more discriptive than this but really, the "homely" food really makes you crave a second serving! The meat was tender and so well seasoned and the vegetables lost in the beautifully decorated dish bowl were like the perfect gastronomic symbiosis before your eyes! They were there and meant to be together with their roasted potatoe "friends". The Bakehouse is a mouth watering experience and a MUST for all those who appreciate a good restaurant and one of the good things in life - food! The restaurant is small yet cosy and beautifully decorated. The staff were outstanding and very friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank u4ria65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakehouse also viewed

 
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing