We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asian experience by the canal”

Geisha Asian Restaurant
Ranked #598 of 2,559 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Geisha welcomes you to experience the true, authentic taste of traditional Japanese and Thai food.Indulge your senses in our fresh flavors while our warm and friendly service insures that your satisfaction is guaranteed. We hope that you will share the same passion we have for great Japanese and Thai food. Welcome!
Ireland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Asian experience by the canal”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We ate here on a cold wet Wednesday night in March, with our table booked for 6pm. Only 12 other diners in the restaurant, although 3 of them were Asian and on their first visit. Access is easy – Superquinn underground car park is about 2 minutes away (see Claire’s review below for times) and Ashtown railway station is actually nearer. Decor is bright and open and the window booth that had been reserved for us was just right. They also have a room for private parties, that looks like it could take 8/10, just off the main restaurant. The two waitresses serving us were friendly, helpful and efficient. We received our starters about 11mins after we ordered and the mains arrived about 12mins after our starter dishes were cleared away. The staff kept a close eye on the tables, not in any sense intrusive, just ready to help, if needed. The food is what a restaurant is all about. The crackers (prawn?) while waiting were delicious and more substantial than most that we’ve experienced (you know, the white plastic type!). We had the combo platter to start ( 5 different choices) and they set the tone for the meal. Strong, distinct flavours with all of the items tasting crisp and delicious. My partner had the Massaman curry and I had a Thai Green curry (we both chose the chicken option). The dishes were excellent, in hers the small potatoes tasted superb and in mine the curry was outstanding, as was the fried rice, again not your standard fried rice. Our bill [for 2 courses and a glass of wine each] came to €61 – excellent value. We’d highly recommend it and we’ll eat there again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for Lunch”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had the lunch deal €14.95 for three courses. The food was excellent. I thought the tempura vegetables for starters were very good. There is a good wine list and the mark up on the wine for an Irish restaurant was reasonable. The restaurant itself is really nice and we look forward to returning in better weather to enjoy the balcony view. Lunch for 5 people including wine and four beers was €126 and we considered that good value. We definitely would recommend this restaurant and it is the third/fourth visit by some of us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabraperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai food on the Grand canal”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restuarant offers a wonderful Thai experience situated on the banks of the Grand canal at Ashtown. A cold night out in January was spent in this beautiful restaurant with some girl friends. We had the combination platter for starters and the highlight was the Choo Chee Duck, slices of duck presented in a creamy sauce. The costs were reasonable at €30 per head including coffee (no wine) and the staff didnt rush us out even though we sat down at 7:30 and didn't leave until after 11 p.m.
The staff were very pleasant and efficient and the restuarant has a nice family buzz even in the evening time. We parked underground in the nearby Superquinn carpark for free but remember it closes at 11:00 p.m. so you might get caught out if you get absorbed in conversation. All in all a lovely evening was had by all and we will return again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Dublin 7”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely restaurant with great food and a lovely atmosphere.
Staff can't do enough to help. The window booths are our favourite tables. There's also a heated terrace for smokers or to wait on tables on busy nights...
Parking can be tricky, but the bar underneath is a great spot for drinks before/after your meal. Live music on Fridays and Saturdays too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality food and service”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Geisha is a fantastic restaurant. The decor is unusual and interesting. Service is excellent and the food is out of this world. Have been twice since we discovered it recently and will be back many times in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolkenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisha Asian Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Geisha Asian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing