We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour, but the tasting experience needs to be looked at”

Jameson Distillery Bow St
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.49*
and up
Jameson Distillery Bow St. Experience
Ranked #22 of 507 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome, back! Since John Jameson's brave first steps into this building in 1780, we've been focused on his ambition to create unforgettable experiences (along with great whiskey, of course). The new look Jameson Distillery Bow St. carries on this ambition through three fully guided experiences: Bow St. Experience, The Whiskey Makers, and The Whiskey Shakers - all of which have a firm focus on immersive storytelling. You'll be invited to touch, smell, and most importantly, taste Jameson in the original Bow St. Distillery buildings. An exciting part of our Whiskey Makers & Whiskey Shakers experiences is a visit to our live Maturation Warehouse, where you'll get to taste Jameson straight from the barrel. The only way to get closer to the source would be to have John Jameson guide you through the distillery himself.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great tour, but the tasting experience needs to be looked at”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

On a recent trip up to Dublin, myself and my girlfriend thought it'd be a good idea to try out the Jameson tour, as it's always something we've heard good things about, and it was definitely worth it for a student price of 10.60 each.

Right off the Smithfield luas stop, when you get there, you are greeted with a huge welcome area, with reception dead ahead. We had booked our tickets online (saving 10%) and when we asked the person at the desk, we were told where the tour would start from, when it was going on, and that, as we were 20 minutes early, we were more than welcome to browse the gift shop or enjoy the bar they have, which stocks a huge variety of whiskey (as you might have guessed) as well as cocktails and other drinks.

The tour itself started with with a movie being shown about what the distillery was like back in the day, with the tour guide giving us a brief run down of what we were going to do on the tour. After the movie, before we set off, he asked for 8 volunteers out of the 25 or so people to take part in a tasting game at the end, which luckily, I was chosen for,

We were then led around the distillery while being told all about the process in making whiskeys, from the choice ingredients used, to the innovative Triple Distilling method used to create the smoothness, as well as the maturation process, which gives it it's colour and most of it's flavour. All throughout the informative tour, at every process, after explaining what happens, the guide answered any questioned we had for him.

At the end of the tour however, you are shown a brief marketing piece by jameson, and told about the different styles around the world people drink it. Then we were all told to select either a straight measure of jameson, or a jameson ginger and lime drink. As part of the tasters, I was told, along with the 7 others, to sit at a table at the top of the room, while the rest of the group were allowed to sit anywhere. The 8 of us were then taken though the tasting of jameson, jack daniels, and johnny walked black label and had a very good run down of the way to get all the smells and tastes, and told the differences in the three.

While I found this part great, I did notice that the rest of the tour group were left out a little bit. It would have been better if there had been a way to incorporate everyone in the tasting process, but I understand this is a bit unfeasible. It did seem to come on the day that they were slightly ignored, but overall, everyone seemed delighted with the experience.

Then we were left to either eat at the restauraunt, or just head on back downstairs to the main hall. At this point I took the opportunity to enjoy a Jameson tasting try from the bar for €18, where you are given a taste of jameson, jameson 12 year old, jameson gold reserve, and jameson 18 year old, and given a place mat with the different notes and flavours you will notice. This was a great finish to the tour and I would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdr799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distillerynews, Manager at Jameson Distillery Bow St, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear visitor,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your detailed review. We are delighted with your recommendation and are glad to learn that you enjoyed the tour and took the opportunity to sample from the range of premium whiskeys we have on offer.
Welcoming over 300,000 visitors each year, we strive to give each visitor a Jameson signature drink as part of the tour experience, and we deliver this with great success. Visitors who wish to take place in the tasting can do so for a supplementary fee of €8.00 per person. However, we will certainly take your feedback into consideration and will ensure it is shared with our management team for review.
We hope you continue to enjoy our whiskey,
Slainte,
The Distillery Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,092
    1,839
    630
    196
    114
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Triple Distilled, Triple Perfection”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I love Jameson Whiskey...who knew? We toured the the Jameson Distillery and had a fabulous time. The tour begins with a cheesy, but fun video and then goes through the process of distilling whiskey from start to finish. It was education and fun and I left the tour feeling ready to give this a try in my basement. The only slightly disappointing thing is that this location is no longer a working distillery, so you cannot see the process as it is actually happening. Our tour guide, Niall, was very informative and really knows his stuff! At the completion of the tour, there is a whiskey tasting, and I was chosen to be a taster. I am now and official whiskey taster, and can say that I love Jameson. It was smooth and very good. Jameson and Ginger Ale for all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HonestToAFault820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am not much of a whiskey drinker but when in Dublin... A fun afternoon, great staff - Nile was a dream, very funny and made the afternoon for us! Try the cocktails as they are all made with jameson and other bits and bobs and are very nice - expensive at 8euros a cocktail but well worth it - you're on a holiday spoil yourself!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurenZabbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“well organized”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really enjoyed this tour - started with documentary film, moved to museum part with all commentary and finished with tasting part. Tour was well organized, there is shop to buy some whiskey and souvenirs.
Easy to book in advance via website. Its located in city centre, hop on hop off bus stop very close.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not exactly mind blowing, but well worth the visit.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The tour guide was lovely but a bit forced as she tried to get the participants to laugh at her lame and clearly, often repeated jokes. Nevertheless, for a whiskey enthusiast, it is very interesting to see how different their process is than other whiskey distilleries. Thanks to our reviewers for the suggestion to try to get selected as a tasting volunteer. This happens fairly early in the tour, so make sure you establish eye contact, stay close to the guide and ask questions early. Course, the tasting only compares regular Jameson against JW Black and JD, to compare Irish against Scotch and Bourbon, neither of which are examples of the best available of each type. Fun anyway. Your costs 14 Euros and expect a 45 minute wait. Well worth it.since the cost includes a free drink of regular Jameson, no reserves or 12 and up unless you want to pay for it. 18 yr old costs 14 euros.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDogTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jameson Distillery Bow St also viewed

 

Been to Jameson Distillery Bow St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing