We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely day out in The Botanic Gardens”

National Botanic Gardens
Ranked #12 of 504 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lovely day out in The Botanic Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I hadn't been there since I was a child. The Greenhouse layouts and community garden are superb. We brought a few things for picnic and brought our rubbish home. Lovely sunny June day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,525
    518
    71
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Come for the wonderful scenic garden stay for the Cakes!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is a an oasis of beautiful space, flora and fauna with a heavy sprinkling of great sculptures. This is a lovely way to spend a day in dublin with one of the best little restaurants right on the site with a fantastic cake selection. Locals go there for tea and cake regularly, lucky them.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank irlseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

beautiful gardens, well maintained. nice and peaceful while beautifully laid out. Not the easiest to find, and the cafe is okay, but a nice haven just outside the centre of the city.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank greene01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

These gardens have years of history and amazing hot houses to investigate. Cafe has amazing cakes and is very busy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Break from the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We didn't spend too much time in the Botanic Gardens, but I wholeheartedly enjoyed my limited amount of time there. The gardens are expansive and beautiful - you completely forget that you're on the outskirts of a major world city. The gardens are very well-kept and you could spend many hours wandering the trails and taking a closer look at the plants. Very peaceful and ambient - if Glasnevin isn't too far for you, definitely take the trip out there!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to National Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing