We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good bits” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fuoco Cafe

Il Fuoco Cafe
Ranked #523 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Some good bits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Il Fico - The Fig Tree. We went for the early bird menu which is a bit limited but offers value at €14.95. The House Wine was very drinkable and cost €11.95. Starter of Crostini was very tasty put us in good form. We both ordered the 8 oz Steak [I know.......stupid...its a Sicilian Cafe!] which came with ratatouille. My wife said she never had a steak like it - I liked the ratatouille. Waiter is a lovely man and its a comfortable cafe in a great location, which does not overcharge like many in Dublin 2.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyMaureenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    12
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
306 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Some Great Value Meal-Deals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've been into Il Fico a couple of times since it opened and am glad to see it managing to compete okay with what are a few very sub-standard but well-established Italian eateries nearby. The menu says Sicilian (as opposed to traditional Italian) and there's a definite Moorish/Arab North-African influence to some of the dishes on offer (and obvious too in the decor). The usual standards (like minestrone, lasagne etc) are all very filling and tasty, and the waiters are invariably friendly. Added to that, they've recently been offering some great value meal deals on different days at different times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The service was great - polite and friendly staff. Lunch was stellar, really great pizza and tandoori chicken sandwich. Baby friendly with outdoor seating.

Helpful?
2 Thank snagula
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best in Dublin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went to 2 other Italian restaurants (one was next door!) and this was by far the best AND the best value. Very accomodating staff, more selection than other Italian restaurants and very friendly service. Highly recommend and will certainly come back on my next visit to Dublin!! AWESOME!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Value Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Having missed lunch I needed a quick cheap bite to eat in the Grafton Street area and spotted a sign for any pizza and a beer of glass of prosecco for €11.96. It was a warm evening and the outdoor seating suited me perfectly. The service was very friendly and helpful. I ordered a Quatrain Staffioni and a Pironi Beer. To my surprise the pizza arrived very quickly and was deliciouse and piping hot while the beer was perfectly chilled. The price of the pizza alone on the menue was €14.95 so I left well fed and happy that I had got a real bargain.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fuoco Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Il Fuoco Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing