We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place if you want a quiet one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #3 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Guys, I've been staying here for 2 weeks ( for the time I was looking for a permanent place ) I have to admit, its a good looking hostel. ITs ok if you want to party hard, during the weekend, its becoming like a giant nightclub its so damn noisy, even during the week its still the same so be careful.
They also have a bad administrative system; I've found myself always extend my stay cause i didn't know how many nights more I wanted to stay; and guess what, in 2 weeks they changemy dormitory 5 damn times, with all the annoying stuffs like movin all your damn luggage from a dormitory ( same kinf I precise ) to another one at 8am etc etc
THey also dont give towels nor breakfast.
You can find a much better place in Dublin for less money.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed far from the door and a lower one. Basically ask for number last number of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yemin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for yuor recent review on the Generator Dublin. The hostel comprises of a large number of beds so unfortuantely if you keep making new reservations at the last minute you will be constantly moved but if you make one reservation we allocate you in one particluar room for the length of your stay.

We do provide daily events which involve DJ's and live music which we feel our guests like.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my first experience staying in a hostel, I stayed for 5 nights total in February of this year. I stayed in a room with 6 beds which were usually full despite that it was in the off season. I was on the second floor room 206, which faced the street, but as it is a pedestrian plaza there was no traffic noise. The only issue was that on the weekends it can be quite noisy with people partying and music playing loudly and also there is only two washer's and dryers for use for the entire building.I thought it was fantastic that they provided a trunk underneath each bed for you to lock your belongings, as well as being able to pay for a locker if extra room is needed. The hostel is centrally located within walking distance to the main areas Temple Bar and O'Connell street. There is a Fresh supermarket right across the plaza as well. There is also a breakfast cafe and lunch place in the hostel, and the food is alright, but not much for healthy options. I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and there are many amenities at the front desk if you forget something (soap, converters, towels etc.). Altogether I had a great experience and would certainly recommend this hostel for anyone as the price is great!

Room Tip: Ear plugs are a MUST! Also a sleep mask can be helpful too. Try to get a bottom bunk if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your positive comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Luis villamizar from colombia, .I have been staying in the hostel for more than one month..Every employee in the place are very good,but the workers that stood out for me is Tarzan and Lucas they make you feel very comfortable in the hostel m and make me want to come back in the future.. is a good place,

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louimizar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kiind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent place for you looking cool place to stay and good company.
I spent one month at the hostel, very polite and caring people ...
Congratulations team!
In particular Tarzan, Lucas and Carolina!
=D

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joao A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for mentioning individual staff members.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Although I was only here for a couple nights, the employees are very nice and there are a lot of events they plan in and around the hospital that you can join, its also right next to a tram so you can get places very quickly if youre opposed to walking.
My only complaint is that breakfast cost money and there werent locks provided with the luggage storage in the room- but the second one seems more my fault.

Room Tip: The ground floor mixed room showers are easier to figure out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This was intended to be a cheap weekend stay where we just needed a place to sleep! We had a basic private room which was clean and functioning. Basically all that was in the room was bunk beds. The hostel is about a 10 minute walk from the main temple bar area and there is bus stops very close by. Has a good social area downstairs although we didn't use it. Cafe opposite that does a good breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mg3191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin and for all your comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

If you're young, hip & highly sociable this is the place for you. The hostel is setup for max socialization. Loud music always playing, people drinking and hanging around. Be forewarned you're not allowed to bring outside food/drink inside. They have a cafe but only serve lunch items M-F. The hostel is clean as was my room. The bed is comfortable, however, the pillow is flat and very uncomfortable. My room was freezing!! Even though the heat was on it never warmed up. Most of the evening I could hear people hanging around outside. Yelling & being noisy. My room was located by the door of the hallway. It was awful. I spent most of my evening being woken up by loud drunks roaming around.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melonious83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We appreciate all your comments negative and positive and I do apolgose that you room was cold, I have passed your comment onto our maintenance team.

We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 124 in Dublin
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#8 of 124 in Dublin
1,107 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 124 in Dublin
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $25 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing