We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #5 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here in August 2012 (it wouldn't let me select that option) Great Location, Friendly staff, easy to meet other solo travelers. Very new and clean, with each bunk having its own power-point, light and under-bed locker with padlock-able catch made security really easy which was a relief. Not a huge amount of character, but the atmosphere was still really good and it seemed almost hotel-standard for a hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin92andChris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive review.

We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon!

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    723
    241
    113
    45
See reviews for
128
241
500
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here in May 2013 for 4 days. It was very easy to get to and was in a good location with easy access to the tram. It was a 2min walk to the Jameson distillery if you wanted to explore that. The people working reception were really friendly and nice, even though I couldn't check in for an hour. When I checked in I was told I had been upgraded to a larger room which included a jacuzzi. When I went to my room the first problem was that my assigned bed was already in use by another person. So back down to reception I went. That got sorted quickly and I was able to go back up to my room. My room was a disaster, it looked liked it hadn't been cleaned in a few days. Yes, my roommates were messy but the state of the en-suite was disgusting. There was 2 showers, 2 toilets, a jacuzzi, and a 2 sinks. The jacuzzi still had water in it from the night before, the toilets had not been cleaned recently and showers needed a good scrubbing as well as the rest of the floor. The nice thing about the room was it was extremely large with large windows and there was extra space even with 8 beds in the room. Another issue I had was access to cooking and refrigeration which was extremely limited so I ate out most of the time. My roommates were also able to bring in strangers they met on the streets at night which did not make me feel safe, I feel like these people should have been stopped at the door. The storage room you only could access with a key card and you were able to store your items before and after checkout which was handy. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone else based on the cleanliness, safety, and access to kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to thank you for all your comments as this helps me to investigate your issues so they can be resolved immediately.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We were completely told off twice by two different Polish reception girls.very unfriendly and unwelcoming. Spoiled our whole stay here. Plus the room we stayed in was very very cold.heating was not working. Not coming back here for sure

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Firstly I would like to offer my apologies that your stay was not enjoyable. Here at Generator we pride ourselves in our customer service so I am very disappointed in your review. I would like the opportunity to discuss this further if you could send me your contact details to maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com.

Looking forward to hearing from you

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The place was great, the location was ideal, and the lounge bar area was really welcoming. There's a super market and a tram stop very close to the hostel. Also a great breakfast cafe right in front of it.
The biggest problem (apart from the free wifi not working most of the time) was the hearing. It was terribly noisy while it was on, and it was event turned off during the night.
Finally, the staff has been most helpful whenever we needed instructions.

Room Tip: Try not to be on the first floor (you will hear the bar noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise that the wifi was on and off, it is under re-construction at the moment and will be resolved very shortly.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Generator is close to a LUAS station and also, you can walk to the main atractions of Dublin. The room should be more clean. Great staff, bar and lounge room. The Wifi doesn't work very well, but it's free. Laundry is good and cheap, be careful with hot water and the dryer, it may shrink your clothes.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a floor that is close to the toilets, it's better for showering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniqueMascarenhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at The Generator with my 10 yr old son 22,23,24 dec. 1st of all any negative reviews, totally dismiss them. Generator Hostel is a hidden gem. Totally blown away by the cool and hip atmosphere. Everything you need is here. Bar,breakfast, late bar snacks entertainment.The main lounge area is seriously funky. I stayed in room 410 with private bathroom which was clean comfy and modern. There's no Tv's in room but free wifi on your tablet sorts that. I arrived early at 11 o'clock and it was no problem for reception to sort out my room. Reception are so helpful and friendly. I just wish barman was more friendly but that is just being picky. (Guinness 5 euro,Fosters 4.50 euro)Tram is 2 mins away. Bus 5 mins away. Main train station 2 stops on tram (1.90 euro)Airport is 6 euro on bus every 15 mins. Takes about 20 mins. There's a cinema 1 min away.a supermarket 2 mins away and couple of wine bars. I found a traditional Irish pub The Cobblestone which plays live Irish music every night for free. That's only 3 mins walk. How Amazing is this Hostel. I paid 75 euro for me and me son for our stay WOW. Trust me,book here and be blown away.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you will return to Dublin sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days 3 night s with a group of 8, in a 8 person room, in ground floor room 022.

This hostel is near to everything, cafe, bars, grocery shop,and the bridge to other side to dublin. I personally love the bed, super comfortable, I felt like lying there whole day,hahaha! the space in lobby and bar is cool and chilling, very lovely, and the staffs are friendly. For the price, it's really cheap, it's really cool for this type of hostel. It is clean, and the interior design is cool. One small thing I'm a little disappointed is the bar and the pool area closes pretty early. I hope it's open until 2 3 midnight. And the internet is pretty slow. But if you use pc it's fast. They provide you maps and must visit destinations on maps, so it's really useful. They also have live bands performing on certain days, and events/ parties, all you need to do is check the notice board.

Overall, I like it. :D

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments.

We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Property: Generator Hostel Dublin
Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing