We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel, busy, book ahead” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Generator Hostel Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #4 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta ga
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, busy, book ahead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a large, clean hostel that stays pretty busy. The crowd varies but is a bit on the younger side.

The beds in this hostel were very comfy. The top bunks were not the easiest to get up to though. The luggage lockers under the bed fit a medium suitcase (bigger than a carry on), my coat and backpack! Bring your own lock. There is also luggage locker rental in the basement but it is $$. Wifi is strong. There is some amount of street noise late at night but I've found this at most hostels.

It was a little more expensive than some hostels but good service.

I appreciated the security at the door late at night checking key cards.

Room Tip: If you want a bottom bed, request early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Hostel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and yes the beds are extremely comfortable!!

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    715
    236
    112
    45
See reviews for
127
240
492
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

BAD: CANT drink alcohol in the hostel unless its bought from its overly priced bar. Looks fancy, but facilities aren't great and kitchen isn't always open and never available when you want. No lounge area. I was on floor 1 and had to walk up a floor and down a hall for the nearest bathroom. Breakfast isn't free and paid b-fast is bread and cereal - blah. Far worse than even free breakfasts at other hostels. Clearly the people making all the rules and have designed the place have never been travelling or on a traveling budget. Not the 'for backpackers, by backpackers' style. Just a cheap bed, which is decent for Dublin.

GOOD: cheap place to stay, beds are decent and have outlet and lamp, good in room lockers.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TotemCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

Here at Generator we concentrate on making the guests stay as pleasant and as hassle free as possible. Our inclusive breakfast includes a selection of breads, cereals, yogurt, juices and hot beverages. Our Generator café is also open every morning for guests who guests who would like that little bit extra.

As our bar is open from early morning till late a night there is a policy of no personal alcohol on the premises. We pride ourselves in providing some of the cheapest bar deals in the city.

Again I would like to thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I needed a place to stay during my 3 night trip to Dublin, based on the trip advisor reviews we chose Generator Hostel and booked into a 6 bed female dorm paying approx £10 per night.
The hostel has a good location near the city centre, just off a bus route from the airport and in a square with plenty of cafes and restaurants. i would definitely recommend the nearby Cinnamon cafe for breakfast or lunch which is a 2 minute walk away. The city centre is an easy 15 minute walk along the river.
The Hostel has a huge bar and chill out area with free wifi and it also offers food such as burgers and pizzas. It has a really nice feel to the place. Upstairs my 6 bed dorm was brilliant, it was an ensuite bathroom each bed has two plugs and a light and your own pull out lockable storage drawer ( you would need a hug padlock to fit the lock, mine wasn't big enough to fit, but the room has keycard entry so it was safe enough.
If someone in the room is taking forever in the shower there were some other showers on the floor below and a free hairdryer which was a nice touch. The only problem with the ensuite shower room was that the shower door swings out and water drips all over the floor with no where to drain away to. It seemed one member of our room was unable to see this was happening and we often had a small swimming pool covering most of the floor. Its easily resolved if you have Any common sense, get dried in the cubicle, step out and quickly close the door so not a huge issue but a bath mat might help contain the flood.
Well worth a visit and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Bring a large padlock and a towel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie_pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a great atmosphere, the facilities are great with a bar, cafe, computers, wifi etc. Great atmosphere any night of the week. Rooms are OK. The beds are OK, the room facilities could be better but overall is nice. For anyone going remember to bring a lock and a towel. If you want to shower or lock you bag you will need these. Can be quite loud on the weekends...but overall a nice atmosphere - great location!

Room Tip: Get the smaller rooms, i.e. 6 beds a room as they tend to be quieter...females definitely go for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and was impressed with the facilities. Rooms were nice with ensuite and spacious. There is a bar, cafe for breakfast and lunch and a burger/pizza place after that. Prices for food are high especially the pizza/burgers but we're seriously tasty, the room was relatively cheap however. The supermarket across the road has a good selection of sandwiches etc.

I didn't find it an ideal place for a solo traveller due to the high numbers of weekenders, groups and a lack of cooking facilities. It very much suits nightlife orientated groups with a few hours for city sightseeing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesbhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
207 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Hostel situated in a suburb close to the city centre. Only 15 minutes walking. The hostel is modern and new and also is clean. The hostel organizes different kind of activities. The accomodation has a fantastic price. The unique negative aspect is that there isn't bathroom in each floor. Incredible choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the nice comments.

Hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Organised very last minute, fortunately they were able to accommodate 9 of us!
Great hostel, lots of interesting people
The staff were helpful. One of the female members of staff recommended great bars and restaurants which was very helpful. Not far to walk from the main city. Taxis are familiar with the location.
Rooms were clean and tidy.

Only negative was the cleaner appeared between 10-11am each morning and they forced themselves into the room to collect the bins, we were all asleep and surprised to see someone in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay. If you require any future dates please contact us directly and we will look after you.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Property: Generator Hostel Dublin
Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing