We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Generator Hostel Dublin
Nearby Hotels
$204
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$164
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$265
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$217
$185
Buswells Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$305
$285
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,231)
Filter reviews
2,231 results
Traveler rating
939
818
292
128
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
939
818
292
128
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjameson distillerybunk bedssmithfield squareprivate bathroomluggage storagetemple bartram stopcommon areasgreat barminute walkcity centrebar downstairsdormroommateslockbackpackerscomputers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,232 - 1,237 of 2,231 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Positives:
Generator dublin has a great common area, bar and small cafe for snacks. The staff are friendly and helpful. It was clean and tidy.

The location: The location is ok but it's not close to any bars or restaurants, or shops. It's literally inside a big residential/ business park next to the jameson distillery. That means if your not in the mood for braving the Irish winter weather at night your only option is to eat from the bar- there's nothing close by for a quick fix. But in terms of local attractions: jameson distillery is literally it's neighbour, guiness is a good 25minute walk, temple bar is about 20-25mins and the Main Street in dublin likewise.

Negatives: the rooms are very small. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the configuration of the room made it difficult for manoeuvring around the room. The lockers are located under the bunks and when you pull them out no one can get past you or around you. You can't open your locker when someone is walking around the room, because it blocks the way, or when someone is in the bathroom as it blocks the door from opening.
The noise outside at night was pretty loud. Make sure if your on the ground floor you have ear plugs. Because the rooms are so small, it smelt pretty terrible in a mixed bed dorm when you come back in during the day after having fresh air. Everyone's clothes, luggage and shoes... Not good.

The kitchen for a hostel of this size is very poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We appreciate your comments and they have been shared with the team.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We recently took a city break to Dublin and stayed here. The hostel is a little away from the main tourist parts of town (Temple Bar, Grafton Street, O'Connell Street etc) but everything in Dublin is easily walkable and you're never really more than 20 minutes from where you need to be. It's at the right side of town for a trip to the Guinness Storehouse too. The hostel is clean and pleasant and having an en suite in the dorm made it a bit unusual (in a good way) compared to some other hostels. There is an extensive break out area with a bar (€5 for a pint of the black stuff) and the food we had one night was decent enough (cheeseburger with chips and a grumpy goat pizza came to around €15 I think). The break out area has WiFi and although we were told it didn't reach the rooms I picked up a weak signal in our room. The biggest drawback from our stay was that the room we were allocated (room 103) had the window right above the atrium of the bar. On the Saturday night the music (loud thumping dance music) from the bar was so loud that we couldn't get to sleep at all. Having been awake since 4am for our flight into Dublin and thinking we could get an early night's sleep before our second day, we didn't expect music to be on until after midnight. We told the staff on reception the next morning and their attitude was basically, well what do you expect on a Saturday night? The Sunday night was better and although we could still hear the music it was quieter and didn't stop us falling asleep. This will affect all the rooms around 103 and probably a good few floor above as well. I'm not trying to be a party pooper, but surely the music could be quieter on Saturday nights after a certain, more reasonable time to let people who want to sleep actually get some sleep!! As with hostels, you get lucky or unlucky with your dorm-mates, however the hostel seemed to have a number of stag-do and hen-dos staying (as you might expect for a hostel) and we were woken several times over both nights by shouting in the corridors. I would suggest to management that they check in advance and then try and keep these sorts of party groups separate from individuals and smaller groups where possible. All in all we thought the hostel was adequate, but weren't overly impressed. I've stayed in the Generator hostel in Berlin and it was much better, so it's not that their a bad chain, just a few tweaks would make things much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the bar area as possible.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We appreciate your comments both positive and negative as it really helps us to make our guests have an enjoyable stay.

I have passed on your comments to each department so we can make changes where possible.

We hope to welcome you back to Generator Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Common areas are nice, rooms are average. I stayed in four bedroom that was quite clean, but the heating wasn't working. We complained but they didn't do anything about it. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NezaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you found your room clean but I do apologise that your heating wasn't working on the night.

We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

An amazing exxperience..from the room to the lounge all very well planned. Had an enjoyable stay. The environment was clean, friendly and homely.Reception and staff are simply great, from cookers to security guards. The main lobby is huge, with breakfast room, lunch room, kitchen, laundry, bar, pool, etc. That´s a perfect place to meet people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaifa375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the positive comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

For being central and affordable this is great. If you want to stay in and relax bring you own entertainment. There is a nice night life at the ground floor. You can have a better breakfast at the cafeteria if you don't buy it included.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JavanJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope the Marathon went well!!

See you back in Dublin soon!

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews