We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in a Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #5 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Time in a Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Generator Hostel was a decent place to stay while in Dublin. The location of the hostel is excellent, as it is easy to walk to any of the sites within the city. We had booked a 6-bedroom dorm with ensuite and when we arrived both the room and the bathroom were very clean. On the final night of our stay we were told by a woman who worked there that they were going to be putting 2 more beds in our room. We were a little taken aback by this, but she soon returned and told us that this was not going to happen.
The shower in the bathroom was the only downfall of the place. The drain was either very clogged or broken as the floor of the shower flooded every time you showered. As well the poor ventilation in the washroom has lead to the accumulation of some mildew/mold around the shower.
Overall a decent value for the money paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyto_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We appreciate all your comments and the housekeeping department has been informed of your feedback.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    725
    241
    114
    45
See reviews for
129
241
501
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed there for one week and it was good value for money. Although, when I was looking for a hostel in Dublin about a month later it was more expensive.
I stayed in a six bed with private bath dorm. It was clean and quiet. Each bed had its own light and sockets and there are lock up storages in the bedrooms so you can leave your stuff with no worries. The window didn't open much and that might be a problem if there is a stinky person in the same room as you are.
The common area has a great atmosphere and it's really nice, playing good music. There is a bar inside the hostel, which is great. It has a pool table and couches to enjoy the company of other guests.
The only problem is that there is only one big common area and if you want a quiet place to read or some privacy to work or do your stuff you may not have if, since you might be sharing a room with strangers - and some of them spend a lot of time in the bedroom.
The price doesn't include breakfast and the food there is not cheap. I didn't know if there was a kitchen in the hostel because when I checked in I wasn't told about anything. They just gave me my key card and a piece of paper with the room and bed number.
The laundry is 7 euros to wash and dry, but there are only two washing machines for a large number of beds. On top of that, one of the machines was broken, so one washing machine to be shared. If you need to do your laundry, hope that you are the only one.
Part of the staff was nice and friendly, but not all of them. I was received by a rude woman with bad English on my arrival.
I made my reservation directly at their own website and at the end I had to choose the time of arrival. I chose between 12-1 pm, but when I arrived, at 1 pm, I was told that I would have to wait, because the check-in time was only at 2 pm, so I had to pay for a locker in the basement while I went to have lunch, when all I wanted to do was to take a shower.
The location is not ideal, but it's a walking distance to Temple Bar and other attractions.

Room Tip: There are supermarkets around, but they are expensive. Walk a little bit and you'll find a cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linistk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We appreciate all your comments good or bad as it gives us a great guide on how we can improve our customer service and facilities.

All your comments will be shared with the relevant departments for review.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family (myself, husband and 2 grown young adult kids) stayed one night at the Generator. We booked a private room with 4 bunks and an en suite bath. The staff was friendly. The common areas were very nice (lobby, restaurant/bar). The bunks were comfortable and had reading lights/outlets on each bed. My only complaint was that our room was toward the front of the building and there was a loud group of people outside the entire night, drinking and carrying on. Was not conducive for a good night's sleep. The food was so-so, bar drinks on the expensive. Self-serve automatic luggage storage available. Good location (we walked to the Guinness Storehouse and Temple Bar areas). Would recommend to anyone looking for an inexpensive stay in Dublin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your nice comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a view nights in Oct 2012 and I was q bit weary of staying here as it was a hostel and I've previously stayed in one which put me off but to be honest I wouldnt class this as a hostel, was very clean, clean sheets and room also all areas of hostel was clean! We booked a double room private and we got what was on the tin two bede very basic but it was alright for what we paid! The bar and entertainment was good at night and cheap bar! The hostel has loads of old jamesons things around which is a lovely touch! I heard no noise after 12pm so was alright to sleep :)
Staff are friendly the only let down is thelocation bit far from central but the bus stops right by :)
Will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fretnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hostel looks really nice and the location is not too bad. But: we booked a twin room which was not available on arrival, and they didn't offer to fix this. When asked to call the manager, the problem was solved by moving rooms the next day, but we had to check out and check in again, which was a bit annoying because there was a 4 hour gap between check out and in.
The thing to know: DO NOT get breakfast here: it costs 4 euro for only marmelade on a white bun or cornflakes with yoghurt - way too simple for 4 euro's, and the worst hostel breakfast I have ever had. There is a great place across from the hostel that offers a wonderful breakfast for basically the same prices, so just go there in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leolike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We welcome all feedback as it gives us a great indication of how we can improve our services/facilities, so I would like to thank you for sharing yours with us.

We hope that you will return sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hostel for two nights and really enjoyed it. The best looking hostel I have probably ever stayed in. The rooms were fine although the are pretty small. It's a short distance from temple bar and the sight seeing bus stops more or less outside of it. Staff are not so friendly but at less you don't have to look at them for long!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Generator Dublin. Thank you for all your comments which I have shared with the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

As someone who stays in between Sofitel and hostels, I give all my recommendations to Generator. Basic clean rooms, super interesting hall, just behind the Old Jameson distillery, quiet at night... Easy to reach Temple Bar, Guinness Storehouse just across the river. I have not tasted food here, except breakfast, but that really does not count. Stayed for only one night, would gladly go again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Dublin Generator. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Property: Generator Hostel Dublin
Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing