We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest hostel, uncoolest staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #4 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

As soon as you walk in, you know it's going to be a good time. The vibe is chill and the bar area is big and welcoming. As soon as you talk to reception, you're left confused and unsatisfied. They weren't overly helpful or accommodating. There is a communal kitchen advertised but we were informed that we needed to be in a group of 10 or more to use it and even then, it doesn't open until 5pm (usually later). The location is pretty good and the layout of our 8 bed room was great. Awesome hostel, just a shame about staff and kitchen situation.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JALROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We appreciate all your feedback so we can continue to review our policies and procedures. We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff so was disappointed to read your comments.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,111)
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

From my youth :-) We stayed here in July with an under 14 girls sports team in a group consisting of 11 girls and 4 adults. I have to say that the Hostel was more like a hotel than a hostel and for the price paid it was faultless. The girls were in 6 bedroom private rooms which were clean and perfect for their needs. My wife and I stayed in an en suite private room which was spotless, comfortable and certainly nothing like any Hostel I stayed in, in my youth :-). From the reception staff to the breakfast bar staff everyone was so friendly and helpful. The buffet continental breakfast was a great way to start the day.
Location wise it is in a nice quiet spot just behind the Old Jameson Distillery and only a 15 minute walk along the Riverside to The Temple Bar area and all the sites to see beyond. There is also a small supermarket/deli just opposite the Hostel which is handy to pick up bits and pieces. Shopping centres etc. are only a 5/10 minute walk away if walking towards O'Connell Street and the famous Brazen Head Pub is only 5 minutes away across the Father Mathew Bridge.
Without question we would stay here again both if travelling just ourselves or returning with a group. So thanks to all the staff for helping make our adventure in Ireland absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank goanjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments on our staff and facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Generator hostel is everything it promises to be... artsy-ish and clean bordering on sterile. Sheets and towels are crisp and white and they even have reasonably good mattresses, decent water pressure, powerful wifi and handy personalised power points and lights above each bunk.

Downsides are it's a little way out from the centre of dublin where you want to be at nights-end and utterly devoid of personality. Spending the night was sort of like sleeping over at IKEA complete with helpful but slightly glaze-eyed staff.

I'd reccomend it for big groups of friends who want to have a good time but not solo or intrepid travellers who want to meet other travellers and engage with Dublin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsycaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Gypsycaravan

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

If you wish to make another booking please contact us directly.

Kind regards

Brian O'Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not your typical place. The smell of greasy food when walking in was overwhelming. Staff amazingly friendly but not terribly helpful or well-informed. A very young crowd stays here--I was probably twice the average age of the guests.

My room was small and odd shaped, with two twin beds shaped in a wide V configuration. The beds were not comfortable and the shower was small. The room is practical only for sleeping, really. The party happens downstairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb_organic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our guest satisfaction and services. However, we are suprised that you felt older than most guests as there are a wide range of ages staying with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Generator for 2 nights and was really excited as I was coming for my birthday with 7 friends and had booked an 8 bed dorm a month in advance. Unfortunately when we went to check in we were informed we had in fact been split into 3 separate rooms. I mentioned that I had emailed a week before just to confirm we did indeed have an 8 bed dorm as we all wanted to be together and they spent a while searching for my email (as if to suggest I was lying) and then found it but still couldn't do anything about it. The rooms weren't even on the same floor which was very annoying and were also mixed dorms so all of us in all 3 rooms ended up sharing with men and felt a bit awkward getting changed etc especially as the bathrooms were on a different floor to us so it was a pain to keep having to go downstairs to get changed. Usually I don't mind sharing with other people but we specifically booked the 8 bed dorm so we could all be together and nowhere throughout the booking process does it say that by booking an 8 bed dorm you could be split into several 8 bed dorms. Generator basically insinuated it wasn't their fault and 'that's just the way it is' (despite the fact in every other hostel I have booked with this has not been the case) and said if we got up at 7am the next day they might be able to help move us for the next night. Therefore the morning after my birthday night out we got up at 7am (not fun) and they managed to move us to a 8 bed dorm. Other than this problem the hostel was very clean, with basic rooms although the windows in the dorm rooms are tiny and we all woke up boiling hot every morning and it didn't smell great - especially when we were sharing with 5 boys. The bar is also nice although they only had 1 barman on a Saturday night so lots of queuing. Overall the hostel is fine, close to Temple Bar area but in a bit of a nothing area of town, I just didn't like the initial attitude of the staff in regards to the error in the room booking. I think there are probably better places to stay in Dublin.

Room Tip: Make sure your window opens!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Debbie H

Thank you for taking the time to review Generator Dublin following your recent visit.

We were disappointed to note you experienced problems with your stay and would like to apologise for anu invonvenience. In relation to your booking however; you had booked for 8 beds and not for a private 8 bed dorm room. We always work to facilitate individual beds together where possible when booked under the same booking, however they would need to be booked as a private room to guarantee this.

We look forward to welcomming you back to Generator Dublin again in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards

Brian O'Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

6 friends and me stayed here for a long weekend and we're so impressed. It's more like a hotel! Staff were so friendly and considering we were quite a rowdy bunch didn't complain or tell us to be quiet once. The location is pretty good it's a ten minute walk to temple bar and there's a market opposite. Taxi's were about ten euro's to the centre but the one stop bus and tram stop right outside. It's also very close to the whiskey distillery. The rooms were big clean and had sockets for your phone and reading lights! I've seen a few people say they couldn't bring food in but on the first night the doorman directed us to a takeaway!!! We didn't have an en-suite but didn't bother us as showers and toilets were so close and again really clean. I've never left a review before but I saw some of the bad comments and thought it was so unfair. We had the best experience thanks to the staff recommending us places and giving up extra measures in our drinks!!! We'll be back again for st patricks day if they'll let us haha! Honestly would recommend this hostel to anyone!! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShameyWinehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted that you and your group enjoyed your stay. We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about the local area and the hostel itself.

We hope to welcome you back for the St Patrick's Day festivities.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here on weekend trip. We had booked a twin ensuite room only to be given a 6 bunk bed dorm (which we werent notified of at reception). We went back to reception to say there was only 2 of us and would prefer not to be in bunk beds, hence the reason for booking twin room. They told us they had overbooked and we would have the room to ourselves. It was a large room but we still had to sleep in a bunk bed. We then had to go back to reception as they hadnt given us any towels. The rooms are very basic but thats what you'd expect. It is quite a trek to get into the thick of Dublin and it isnt in a nice area (I certainly wouldnt walk around here myself). We had the continental brekkie which was nice and filling. There are lots of comfy couches and chairs to lounge about and tvs are in public areas as well as pcs for a small cost. The hostel is clean everywhere and is not noisy at all, its just the location that put me off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifeTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are disappointed to hear you were not happy with the location as we are only a short walk from the city centre and Temple bar.

Smithfield is a residential area steeped in history with lots of amentities, close to city centre, temple bar and right on the tram line, so we were suprised that you felt the area was 'not nice'.

However should you wish to return to Dublin at any stage please contact me directly @ maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com

Regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,385 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 119 in Dublin
2,123 reviews
Abbey Court
#7 of 119 in Dublin
1,060 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 119 in Dublin
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $30 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing