We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Generator Hostel Dublin
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$512
$323
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)
$144
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,252)
Filter reviews
2,252 results
Traveler rating
949
822
295
130
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
949
822
295
130
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjameson distillerybunk bedssmithfield squareprivate bathroomluggage storagetemple bartram stopcommon areasgreat barminute walkcity centrebar downstairsdormroommateslockbackpackerscomputers
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 2,252 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friendly staff. Great style. Very secure, with their card system for elevators, and rooms, plus huge pad locked storage boxes under the beds. Extremely clean and comfortable--the washrooms were spotless, the bedding was fresh. One thing I particularly loved was the way the beds have a partial screen by the head so you are sheltered from others in the room while you're sleeping, and they have nice little lights inside, with two plugs. I came here twice in the space of 2 months while I was living in Leeds. Oh, and of course, the price is great!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay each time and appreciate the positive comments.

If you wish to return to Dublin please feel free to contact us directly.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Can't complain about anything in this hostel. Staff were very helpful and friendly on arrival. Room was very clean. Linen spotless and we had a very comfortable sleep.
Would recommend this hostel and I'll def stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magsc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everything was clean, large, unpersonal. The whole building is very modern. They have a bar, but no kitchen. So, it is actually the oposite of what you expect from a hostel. Except, the staff was nice. Price was not expencive, but also not the absolute bargain. Up to here, it just sounds like a cheap hotel. And that is what it felt like.
The problem was just, that due to a bad construction, you could not really open the window of our room. 8 people in one room without fresh air, that can be pretty horrible.
I can not recomand this one, it does not have the charme of a hostel, not the kitchen, where you could help yourself, and I mentioned the smell.

Room Tip: If you get a room where you can not really open the window, go strait back to the counter and ask for a better one.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teefix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Hostel. We are disappointed to hear that the hostel didn't live up to your 'hostel expectations'.

As it is only our first year open we welcome all comments and appreciate feedback in order to improve our facilities and services that we provide.

If you wish to return to Dublin at any stage please contact me directly @ maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com

Regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The place was immaculate! Good facilities and reasonably priced drinks and snacks. It is a two min walk to the trams which transfer you to all the bars/shops. I haven't stayed in a hostel since childhood and was a little nervous when my friend booked it; however I wouldn't think twice about going again. Generator was safe, clean and very accommodating, I can't rate this place highly enough.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a room with strangers ensure you book a 'private room'.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbum4fun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post you recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a private room. Hotel is very modern but the rooms are very small. Location was OK, a short tram ride to the main shopping part of town. Bathroom could have been cleaner, a lot of mould especially considering it is such a new hostel. But overall a nice comfortable stay which was good value for Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent post on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and found the location central.

I have passed on your comments and will address the issue in the bathroom immediately.

We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews