We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad smelling bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #5 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad smelling bedroom”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everything was clean, large, unpersonal. The whole building is very modern. They have a bar, but no kitchen. So, it is actually the oposite of what you expect from a hostel. Except, the staff was nice. Price was not expencive, but also not the absolute bargain. Up to here, it just sounds like a cheap hotel. And that is what it felt like.
The problem was just, that due to a bad construction, you could not really open the window of our room. 8 people in one room without fresh air, that can be pretty horrible.
I can not recomand this one, it does not have the charme of a hostel, not the kitchen, where you could help yourself, and I mentioned the smell.

Room Tip: If you get a room where you can not really open the window, go strait back to the counter and ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teefix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Hostel. We are disappointed to hear that the hostel didn't live up to your 'hostel expectations'.

As it is only our first year open we welcome all comments and appreciate feedback in order to improve our facilities and services that we provide.

If you wish to return to Dublin at any stage please contact me directly @ maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com

Regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    723
    241
    113
    45
See reviews for
128
241
500
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The place was immaculate! Good facilities and reasonably priced drinks and snacks. It is a two min walk to the trams which transfer you to all the bars/shops. I haven't stayed in a hostel since childhood and was a little nervous when my friend booked it; however I wouldn't think twice about going again. Generator was safe, clean and very accommodating, I can't rate this place highly enough.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a room with strangers ensure you book a 'private room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbum4fun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post you recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a private room. Hotel is very modern but the rooms are very small. Location was OK, a short tram ride to the main shopping part of town. Bathroom could have been cleaner, a lot of mould especially considering it is such a new hostel. But overall a nice comfortable stay which was good value for Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent post on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and found the location central.

I have passed on your comments and will address the issue in the bathroom immediately.

We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

The rooms and bathrooms in this hostel are fantastic. The hostel is very clean and there is a cafe and bar down stairs. The hostel is a 15-20minute walk or €5 taxi ride from temple bar and a 5minute tram ride from the central bus station.
The only thing that lets this hostel down is that it lacks a kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustralianAbroad91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

If you wish to make another booking please contact us directly.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

this was recomended by friend for a concert we were heading too and wanted to keep the cost down. as hostel's go this is high end and cheap.the room was private, with shower and clean beds and linen. the luas line is right nxt to the hoster and city center is a 10 min walk away. the bar was nice and had good deal on beers and cocktails, 2 pool tables. the breakfest wasn;t great as its just a light menu thingy but you expect no less. would stay here again.

Room Tip: we had 3 spare beds because we booked a private room, bring a towel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Dublin Generator. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've stayed a few times now- in a variety of different rooms- I'm an irish man with business in dublin from time to time, and i can sincerely say you will not, for love nor money, find a better place to stay at this price in dublin. Book early with their own website and beds are available from as little as 10 euros. extremely clean, friendly staff and a simple fresh breakfast i always look forward to(although it does ad an extra 4 euros to your stay) some rooms are a little on the warm side and the windows a little small but others(one in particular on the fifth floor had a huge expanse of glass and a good view and let in much more light and air than others i'd been in but these are all minor qualms because the generator rocks and every city needs one. very clean sheets bathrooms etc and nice lounge though i do wish there was a music free lounge for reading as the loud popular music sometimes gets on nerves, although young europeans will no doubt enjoy the lively ambience it creates. go raibh maith agaibh, generator!

Room Tip: top floor all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted that you enjoy your stay each time you visit Dublin.

Thank you again for all your positive comments.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Well... if you expect something near Temple Bar, this may not be your best choice. But, I really think that this new hostel (I dont know if it´s new, but feels like new.. and so clean!) is great. The good thing is that the bus stop to the airport is near the hostel and the Tram stop too. The turistic part of Dublin is not that big tho.

Talking about the hostel... they do have loundry, lugage storage, a great bar downstairs and great rooms... free wifi and so on. Helpfull staff that are willing to tell you about the things to do in Dublin. There is a supermarket across the street where you can grab something to eat, and at the reception you can buy some stuff too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

Our location is a short walk from Temple bar and also conveniently located beside the hop on hop off bus, the airport link and many of the city's attractions.

We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Property: Generator Hostel Dublin
Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing