We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hostel with bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #4 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Started our travels through Europe with a stop in Dublin. The Generator is a newer hostel with modern facilities and a pub on the ground floor. Our stay here was somewhat tainted by our roommates - two girls who insisted on snuggling up in one bunk watching movies in the dark - day and night and would not let us turn the light on for most of our stay. We knew they could speak English because they did so to the other two girls in the room on occasion but were rude and unwelcoming to us. This would be no fault of the hostel itself. The staff here was helpful, gave great directions and called our cab for a morning trip to the port. We stayed in a 6 bed room en suite but because of our roommates - left the room to use the public bathrooms as they had their belonging thrown about and had dirtied up the bathroom in our room - the public facilities were clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor where you could easily hear the "thumping" of the music fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaminoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent post on the Generator Hostel. We are delighted that you liked the hostel and found it modern.

If you ever wish to return to Dublin please contact us directly to book one of our double/twin rooms which are all ensuite in order to enjoy some privacy.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Such a nice hostel! The room was great and reasonably priced. Staff was nice. Free wifi, outlets by bed. 2 euros for a towel. Great location

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxwellCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you recent review on the Generator Hostel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the hostel enjoyable.

Please contact us directly if you wish to visit Dublin again.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Bright neons and a huge bar area that might get busy... The room was huge. Offer a single price for twin room which is great. The room was spotless as was the ensuite... Except for the shower... Which was disgusting. The whole thing was covered in mold. The corners were black. Shocking. I took some photos on my phone and showed the guy on the front desk who was very happy to send someone up yo clean the shower during the day. The shower was cleaned reasonably well but they still missed bits. It was the stark contrast with the rest of the room that made it seem worse.

The only other issue is the laundry... Don't bother trying to use it. They have two washers and two dryers. The dryers don't work. They will cook up your clothes for a couple of hours and you get them back wet and warm. Only two washers for a 200(?) Bed hostel is not enough, especially when their all monopolised by the house keeping staff washing linen 24/7.

Otherwise a good hostel out of the city a bit so a little quieter.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pathfinder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Generator Hostel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

However, I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments to resolve the issues you experienced.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I read all these bad reviews about the Generator Hostel in Dublin, but I thougt that it was just people who never went to a hostel before who got shocked, that were writing this. "If only I'm happy and nice, the staff want be total jerks like the descriptions in the bad comments." Well, we were wrong. Our rooms were mixed up, and the first night we had to wait until 5 in the morning before they could give us a bed. And they did not appologize or give us anything else than an awkward eye, but promised to fix this. The next day the same problem occured. The 8-bed dorm had 10 people in it and our beds were taken. It also smelled like somone died in the room. Never EVER stay in a dorm. The place would be great with a private suite or a private room, but never EVER go to this horrible place if you can avoid it. Long story short: we booked in to another place and left. We never even heard from the manager even they knew how bad we were treated. Almost ruined our holiday, but then we went to our new place and had the greatest vacation. Now I guess there will be a defensive appology/explanation from some person working at the Hostile hostel underneath my review. Dont fall for it. I did! And they DONT HAVE A FRIDGE. AND YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO BRING FOOD OR DRINK HERE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. If you must pay for this, you could basically pay for a better place to stay. I loved Dublin btw! Next year were going to Galway <3

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elisabethuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Generator Dublin.

It is our policy to respond to all reviews that are posted about our property and we take guest's feedback very seriously.

Given the extreme disappointment you experienced during your stay we would welcome the opportunity to speak directly with you.

I can be contacted on maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com

Regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Generator Hostel in Dublin in a double room ensuit. The room was simple but very nice, big, very clean and with a very confortable bed. The staff was very nice and helpful. We asked to change room because they initially gave us a twin, and they changed it with no problem. Breakfast is to be paid extra, but it's excellent for just 4€. It's not very close to the main areas, but the Luas it's just next door.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lela974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Generator Dublin.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
11
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hostel was more like a hotel! The decor is amazing and there's free wifi and a cheap bar. Its in a great location which is right near the Jameson's Disterilly. You have a Luas stop right round the corner which costs 1.60euros to get into town. You also have the tour bus stop and the stop for the airlink bus 747 to the airport right near by too. The staff are friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location suitable to your needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I had read the reviews and decided to take a punt and reserved a private twin. Booked in around 11:40 pm to a great welcome. The room was absolutely spotless, and the bed was comfy.
It gets a bit noisy when all the sharers go to bed and the doors bang.
Overall I would recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank waedywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for all your positive comments.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,046 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 126 in Dublin
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#8 of 126 in Dublin
1,115 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 126 in Dublin
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $28 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing