We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

St. Teresa's Church
Ranked #122 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and like a tardis inside so peaceful take time to visit and say a prayer well worth dropping in

Helpful?
6 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
“Oasis”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a place for peaceful meditation. An oasis of calm in the rush and bustle of downtown Dublin. People drop in here for a quick prayer and a moment of silence.

As the website explains (http://clarendonstreet.com/), this church is a house of discalced Carmelite (men who follow a way of consecrated life inspired by the Rule of St Albert of Sicily as it was interpreted by Sts Teresa of Avila and John of the Cross).

There are all sorts of spiritual activities advertised. For example, the St. Teresa’s Active Retirement Association and the bereavement support group. There is a little shop and cafe too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank G and B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Completely inspired”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

In 2000 my family and I visited Ireland for the first time and I, for one, cannot wait to return! We came across a beautiful church and according to my notes, it would have been St. Teresa's. I hope to return to Ireland with about three weeks to begin what I hope will be a lifetime journey through Ireland. I think this is the church that "showcases" a larger than life figure of Christ in the tomb. Is my memory correct? Does anyone have a photo of this sculpture which was (in 2000) located on the altar just below the main altar? If so, I would love a photo of this spectacular sculpture. We returned in 2013 but could only view the church from the exterior. It was so beautiful I would love to return later this year. Thank you for any help you can provide.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelWrite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I visited St. Tersea's on Saturday July 13th for the 6:30 mass and what a pleasure it was! The church was packed with both locals and tourists alike. The pastor was a delight to chat with after mass, very friendly. The architecture was magnificent as well. The church is cruciform with high ceilings and beautiful statues and artwork. There is also a small shop in back with materials related to the Carmelites and to the history of the Church. Definitely, worth a visit regardless your religious affiliation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Snoqueen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service in beautiful chuech”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous architecture and a great weekend mass with friendly parishoners. This wonderful church is hidden off a back alley off Grafton Street. You enter through the alley into a wonderfully restored church. Worth a visit and if you are Catholic it is worrh attemdimg mass

Helpful?
3 Thank Norwoodlbi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed St. Teresa's Church also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to St. Teresa's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing