We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to visit”

St. Michan's Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.46*
and up
Dublin Gravedigger Ghost Tour
Ranked #33 of 507 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Underneath the church are five long burial vaults containing the mummified remains of many of Dublin's most influential 17th, 18th and 19th century families, including the legendary Shears brothers and the highly decorated coffins of the Earl's of Leitrim. Since Victorian times visitors have descended the vault steps to see the mummies and Bram Stoker, creator of the "Dracula" stories is believed to have visited the vaults in the company of his family. In one vault can be seen the remains of the "Crusader" though in fact he is only 650 years dead. The early visitors to the vaults were responsible for many of the myths and legends surrounding the bodies, though modern scientific investigations have cast doubts on many of these stories. Nevertheless, a visit to the Crypts to see the historic mummies is a remarkable experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very interesting crypt, although it was hard to climb down into them! The mummies were cool, not scary at all, although I did not touch them for 'good luck' as the tour guide suggested! The tour guide was very funny and eccentric, would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    279
    57
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just happened upon st. Michan's Church after looking for the Jameson Brewery and were very glad we did. The tour guide (a Trinity College grad and Barrister) obviously loves his job and made the crypt tour 'come alive', so to speak, with his recounting of the fate of the 2 Barristers accused of treason, to the remains of the wealthy family in their splended coffins and the son who disgraced them in a plain, wooden coffin in the corner of the crypt. A must see. Fee is very reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank brinterisgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“The Crypt Tour Guide Deserves an Oscar”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Seriously. Can somebody please give this man an Oscar?! I wish I'd grabbed his name, but alas, I didn't. Far as I can tell though he is the only one to lead the crypt tours and he's been doing it for twenty years. He was absolutely delightful: Funny as all get out, personal, a terrific storyteller, reminded me a bit of Willy Wonka. The church itself, which dates back to the 1100s, was neat, but the crypt was chillingly cool: Loads of coffins and even a few mummies (rub the one mummy's middle finger for good luck—it's okay, they let you!). The only bummer is no pics; I wish we could have taken pics with the flash off, but alas... Still, huge props to Mr. Tour Guide! He was a hoot!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great guide , very informative.great with the large group we were with.
There was nothing to dislike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ISM1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Definitely pay to go into the crypt. I've done the tour twice and enjoyed it both times, hearing about the families in the crypt and the mummies. The church is beautiful and worth spending a little bit of time in. The guide was a bit eccentric, but enthusiastic and passionate about his stories. Nowhere else have I come across an opportunity to come so close to mummies!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jam991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Michan's Church also viewed

 

Been to St. Michan's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing