We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful venue, but very empty. hardly any exhibits”

Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA)
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.92*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #114 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Attraction details
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful venue, but very empty. hardly any exhibits”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

disabled facilities. cafe do nice coffee/cakes. not many paintings, more installations and to be honest i wasn't impressed by any of them, esp the one with the cat cut in half....ewwww

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy181961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    109
    84
    58
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“WARNING!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

There was a dead cat (split in half) as an exhibit...totally caught me off guard. This was another stop off the hop on/hop off bus tour. I wouldn't say that was a must see. Lots of modern stuff. But I will say, the grounds were incredible and I really enjoyed the coffee shoppe.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos on Sea, North Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Is this art?”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Ah yes. Modern art!!! The building and grounds are great. The exhibits inside leave a lot to be desired. Can you call moving light tubes to put them on hooks on a wall art? Or can you call moving four wooden boxes around a floor art? Not really. That is of course after you have managed to find the building.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MalcolmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castletownbere, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“good museum experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

has a varied programme of exhibitions and a restaurant and book shop worth a 1/2 day out. Have a look at some of the sculptures in the grounds too

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“impressive Building and grounds”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Royal hospital itself is worth a visit, even if you have no interest in modern art. When I visited it was with my college, they had begun to take down the recent Eileen Gray exhibition, we did get a guided tour of the In the Line of Beauty exhibition, some of the exhibits really caught my imagination and some were completely over my head. Our guide Joan was excellent and I didn't feel like I was on a guide tour at all , more like a day out with a very knowledgeable friend, her easy way of speaking, her passion and enthusiasm were a great help in understanding what the artists were trying to portray. Before this visit I might have felt a bit unsure of visiting a modern art gallery, now I know what I could be missing I wont be a stranger anymore.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA) also viewed

 

Been to Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing