We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good museum experience”

Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA)
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.31*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
More Info
$38.71*
and up
Dublin Freedom Pass: Unlimited Transport and Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing
Ranked #116 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Attraction details
Castletownbere, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“good museum experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

has a varied programme of exhibitions and a restaurant and book shop worth a 1/2 day out. Have a look at some of the sculptures in the grounds too

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    109
    84
    59
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“impressive Building and grounds”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Royal hospital itself is worth a visit, even if you have no interest in modern art. When I visited it was with my college, they had begun to take down the recent Eileen Gray exhibition, we did get a guided tour of the In the Line of Beauty exhibition, some of the exhibits really caught my imagination and some were completely over my head. Our guide Joan was excellent and I didn't feel like I was on a guide tour at all , more like a day out with a very knowledgeable friend, her easy way of speaking, her passion and enthusiasm were a great help in understanding what the artists were trying to portray. Before this visit I might have felt a bit unsure of visiting a modern art gallery, now I know what I could be missing I wont be a stranger anymore.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This museum has first rate exhibitions.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This museum lies a few miles west of the city centre and plays host to excellent temporary exhibitions. The green space outside is inviting and pleasant to walk in with views over the Liffey. There is a pleasing central courtyard in addition that gives the whole museum a great sense of space.
Unlike the city centre, parking is painless.
The Leonora Carrington exhibition was surrealism at its quirkiest and best. Unfortunately the exhibition is now over but it is only a matter of time before they match this quality. The Eileen Gray exxhibnition with its demonstration vieo about lacquering was also excellent. Lunch in the pleasant cafe is fresh, tasty and reasonable and the service efficient and tasty. Every three months produces another striking exhibition in this imaginatively run museum.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful gallery ”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The recent Eileen Gray exhibition was excellent and the grounds alone are worth a visit, even in winter they managed to look good . Will definitely return on a nice sunny summer day

Helpful?
Thank dublinAine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great exhibitions - wonderful building and grounds”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went in November and saw the Eileen Gray exhibition we had missed at the Pompidou in Paris. This time we saw a brilliant exhibition of Leanora Carrington, described as The Celtic Surrealist. She was obviously genuinely mad and some of the paintings are quite disturbing but she certainly knew how to paint. Tapestry and sculpture great too! Museum is set in the old Kilmainham military hospital and is lovely architecturally. Great café and lovely places to sit and walk. Garden reminds me of French gardens. Architect may have been same as Les Invalides in Paris?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank suitefan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA) also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing