We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we would have stayed longer”

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.75*
and up
Glasnevin Cemetery Tour in Dublin
Ranked #2 of 504 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Glasnevin Cemetery and Museum are both the guardians and storytellers for over 1.5 million people. From the ordinary to the truly extraordinary, these people helped shape the Ireland of today. We want to share their stories and times with you through tours of the cemetery, a visit to the museum or through a genealogy search for your family history. We are a not-for-profit organisation and all proceeds are used to sustain and improve our cemeteries to ensure they are places of beauty, interest and intrigue.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wish we would have stayed longer”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Honestly we only stopped here for about 30 minutes. Plan to stay at least an hour. Gorgeous old headstones. So much history. Easy parking, beautiful trees. There is a tour available but we were so jet lagged we didn't take it. Would definitely suggest if you plan to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,894
    879
    197
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eerie, yet important place in Irish History”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A somber, yet enlightened visit to the resting place of so many heroes of the battles for Irish Independence.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best tour available in Dublin”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

From the minute we walked in we got a very warm welcome from every member of staff. Museum is excellent as you get to go around it at your own pace. The guided tour of the cemetery has to be one of the best tours I have ever done. Our tour guide Laura was friendly, knowledgeable and explained everything so well.
I would recommend everyone to do this tour when in Dublin as it is full of history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank loopylou86Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very interesting...”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We took the bus from Dublin to Glasnevin which was very direct. The young woman at the front desk was not very friendly, she just answered our questions and returned quickly to whatever she was doing on her computer. That being said, we purchased the sound tours that we listened to as we walked around. I have to say if it was a bit warmer, we would have enjoyed it more but that is our of our control! There is a lot of walking but if you know anything about Irish history, it is worth a visit, just to pay respects to those who have played such an important part in Ireland's history.

We had a hard time finding some graves but I asked someone and they walked me right to it.
The display in the museum and upstairs was very informative. There was a volunteer upstairs that was really kind and helpful...sorry, I did not get his name. The lower level, we followed someone around who was skypeing with a class in Germany, so we found out a bit of information from following him around.

If you have time and you are interested in Irish history, I would encourage you to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glasnevin tour”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I would highly recommend this tour,we had an excellent guide today(Bridget),she has an amazing knowledge of Irish history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dubliner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing