We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting”

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.41*
and up
Glasnevin Cemetery Tour in Dublin
More Info
$56.91*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
More Info
$22.53*
and up
City Sightseeing Dublin Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #3 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Glasnevin Cemetery and Museum are both the guardians and storytellers for over 1.5 million people. From the ordinary to the truly extraordinary, these people helped shape the Ireland of today. We want to share their stories and times with you through tours of the cemetery, a visit to the museum or through a genealogy search for your family history. We are a not-for-profit organisation and all proceeds are used to sustain and improve our cemeteries to ensure they are places of beauty, interest and intrigue.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to Dublin for a weekend away in September 2013. Following reviews of the cemetery I booked tickets online, not been Irish or having much in the way of knowledge of some of the people hurried there I was slightly worried however it was excellent. The guide was very informative and I was able to look up the history in the museum to satisfy my curiosity. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,074
    922
    210
    28
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Can't say enough positive things about this tour!! MUST do!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our tour was on a cold, windy day that threatened torrential downpour at an moment. It was a physically miserable condition outside. Our tour guide was so engaging, informative, and entertaining, that our whole tour group soon forgot all about being cold and miserable. The next hour of the tour went by so fast that we hardly realized that it had been that long. Any guide that is good enough to make you forget you can't feel your nose or your toes and engage you well enough in the tour that you actually remember the history told to you, is a fantastic one indeed!!! In my opinion, this is a MUST do tour while in the area!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not often a visit to a cemetary ranks up there”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our visit and tour of the cemetary was led by the historian who provides us wath rich detail of the occupants over the years. A fabulous photo opportunity for those who like old monuments and a very interesting way to spend the afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Visit to cemetery only”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Didn't have time to visit the museum as we were on our way to Croke Park for a stadium tour but the Cemetery was worth a visit and the staff kindly provided us with a map so we could locate the headstones. Would have liked to have nipped in to The Gravediggers aka Kavanaghs for a pint of Guinness - maybe next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScarfieMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

An interesting place to visit. We went on the tour which included the graves- and stories- of many famous Irish heroes. The only down side to me was that you didn't actually move much around the cemetery as the graves were all in the same place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiealison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing