We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who'd have thought...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasnevin Cemetery Museum

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.36*
and up
Glasnevin Cemetery Tour in Dublin
Ranked #2 of 499 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Glasnevin Cemetery and Museum are both the guardians and storytellers for over 1.5 million people. From the ordinary to the truly extraordinary, these people helped shape the Ireland of today. We want to share their stories and times with you through tours of the cemetery, a visit to the museum or through a genealogy search for your family history. We are a not-for-profit organisation and all proceeds are used to sustain and improve our cemeteries to ensure they are places of beauty, interest and intrigue.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Who'd have thought...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Who'd have thought Dublin's most interesting tourist attraction would be a cemetery.
The opening line to the tour the day I went was: "Dublin has a population of 1.3m people. Glasnevin Cemetery has 1.5m residents". From that moment you knew there was going to be interesting stories to tell.
I like that the Glasnevin Trust invested in a visitor centre to give it an income stream for the future. They are doing great work sharing the stories of Dublin and Ireland's forefathers with visitors and later generations. The good work maintaining the site is the best respect they could offer to the residents of the site.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GBStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,827
    862
    194
    25
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westmeath
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enthralling Step Back in Time - Superb Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

After having it in the back of our minds for quite a while to pay a visit to Glasnevin Museum and take the tour, we finally paid a visit last Sunday, 2 December 2012. Like so many others, we know that we have relatives buried there. Despite the rain and overcast afternoon, the tour guide, Niall, brought us on a superb tour around some of the graves of well known Irish historical figures: from Daniel O'Connell's round tower to Parnell buried over a cholera pit to Michael Collins where fresh flowers are still placed by visitors in his memory. Celebrity residents aside, our guide was mindful that each and every person buried there had played their own personal part in our history too. Considering we were on a tour in a cemetery, Niall brought the place alive with his wonderful story-telling and historical and personal knowledge of the people buried there. He clearly loves his job. The museum itself is interesting and the inter-active screens are very user-friendly and provide good information. The museum shop is well priced as is the cafe/restaurant - good portions of food at reasonable prices in comfortable surroundings. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The tour lasted approx. 2 hours but we would recommend giving at least another hour or two for visiting the museum, having a bite to eat in the cafe and exploring on your own, you could easily while away the hours taking a trip back in time. We will definitely go back for further exploring and maybe find just exactly where our relatives are residing for perpetuity.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Under advertised in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I went there recently and availed of the guided tour. The guide was enthusiastic and witty. The museum added to the experience. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Different for sure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We weren't sure about going there but I'd noticed it on tripadvisor as highly reccomended.
So off we went. On arrival we paid a mear 5 euro, we joined the guided tour, The guide was absolutly fantastic and loved his job. There are so many famous and interesting Irish men and women buried there you'll be surprised.
After the tour go for a walk and enjoy some tea when you get back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited Glasnevin Museum recently and thoroughly enjoyed the experience . Our guide Niamh was fantastic and certainly knows her history ! The 90 mins flew past even on a cold afternoon. I would highly recommend this tour to both Irish Citizens & tourists alike. J&A Keane

Helpful?
Thank 796joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing