We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.41*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #42 of 504 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions all located at the historic crossroads of Dublin. There are three exciting exhibitions; Viking Dublin and Medieval Dublin recreate the city through life size reconstructions, including a Viking house and a medieval fair while Death and Disease are also investigated. Finally unearth the city’s past at the new interactive History Hunters exhibition, visit an excavation site, and see medieval bugs under the microscope in the Lab. See Dublin from a new perspective and come away knowing more about its citizens throughout the ages!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dudley, West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Unlike the State run museums there is an entry fee but it was well worth it. Shame the cafe hadn't yet openedbut it was due to do so any day now. We had a combined ticket for Dublinia and Christ Church Cathedral.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    891
    302
    79
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very enjoyable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Dublina was quite spectacular. Very family friendly and very entertaining. Three floors, first floor covers the Vikings while in Dublin, with wax figures, and models and interactive activities. Second floor cover Medieval Dublin, again quite interesting! Third floor is about archeology and how they discover and date artifacts! The third floor is very interesting! You can go up 96 stairs to the tower to see a 360 view of Dublin. There are student discounts and it's very interesting!

Helpful?
Thank Aesim14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Enjoyed half of it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I didn't get to see half of this exhibit due to a very large and rowdy school group. I wish the organisers would schedule groups separately, as the 40 or so children blocked most of the exhibits and we could not see anything.

We have been to the Mona Lisa in the Louvre in Paris and that was easier to see... Seriously.

The second half was good and I liked the artefact exhibit. It's such a shame to not see the first part as I was there to learn more about my heritage.

Helpful?
Thank AngeleneFay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dublin's history, with a few Vikings thrown in...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've heard about Dublinia and been meaning to go to see it for ages now. I finally got to do that today. I was not disappointed. I love my history and have covered a lot about Vikings in what I learned in primary school. I have got to say that I was really impressed with it all. It's spread out over 2 floors and it's so detailed, it's well worth the entrance fee.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They give you a map with the layout of the exhibition with useful information such as locations of the facilities and the gift shop. Also, upon entry, you are given the option to buy a combined ticket, which includes entry in to Christchurch Cathedral. I didn't take that option but I might have had on another day when I had more time. Thoroughly enjoyable, educational, interactive (on the third floor). Highly recommended for all ages. Great value too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Nice Trip Back in Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

A good basic overview of Viking Dublin but not deep enough for someone serious about history. Still worth a stop if you can fit it in.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidRing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin also viewed

 

Been to Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing