We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for a cathedral”

Christ Church Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$7.79*
and up
Dublin Christ Church Cathedral Admission Ticket
Ranked #56 of 573 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Christ Church Cathedral is one of Dublin's oldest buildings, a leading visitor attraction and a place of pilgrimage for almost 1,000 years. Famous for its breathtaking beauty, magnificent architectural features and wonderful floor tiles, Christ Church is also popular as a venue and is host to many high profile concerts throughout the year. It is home to the tomb of Strongbow, leader of the Normans, who captured Dublin in 1170. The Medieval Crypt, one of the largest in Britain and Ireland, extends under the entire Cathedral and contains The Mummified cat and rat, trapped in the organ in the 1860s. Guided tours, including the belfry, available up to five times a day Monday to Saturday.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The entrance fee is a little steep for what you get to see (€6). The cathedral is beautiful but it’s nothing different from many of the others in Europe. The crypt was also disappointing. While there were some old graves there was not a lot to look at. I also found it cheap and a little disrespectful that they built the café over some of the existing graves.

Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you weren't completely happy with your visit to the cathedral. Our entrance fee is lower than most other attractions in Dublin city and, as a registered charity dependent on the income generated by tourists to survive, it the least we can charge to ensure we can keep the cathedral open for visitors. The 'graves' you speak of in our 12th century crypt (one of the largest in Europe and the oldest structure in Dublin) are actually monuments to people who have (or in some cases actually haven't) been buried in the cathedral nave, which were moved down there during a Victorian restoration of the cathedral - so they bear little reference to the final resting place of the people they commemorate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bell tower"
in 137 reviews
"bell ringing"
in 52 reviews
"mummified cat and rat"
in 48 reviews
"floor tiles"
in 33 reviews
"magna carta"
in 28 reviews
"guided tour"
in 173 reviews
"stained glass"
in 57 reviews
"beautiful architecture"
in 50 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 84 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 37 reviews
"gift shop"
in 62 reviews
"dublin pass"
in 33 reviews
"interesting history"
in 28 reviews
"on display"
in 29 reviews
"belfry"
in 108 reviews
"strongbow"
in 80 reviews
"catacombs"
in 56 reviews
Filter

2,207 - 2,211 of 3,604 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our visit to the lovely Christ Church Cathedral was very low-key. Upstairs, we admired the lovely stonework and stained glass, as well as the musician's corner and the tombs of Strongbow and others, before heading down into the crypt. In addition to beautifully carved tombs (around which the strangely cozy Crypt Cafe has been built), there as a sizable display of ecclesiastical treasures like altar plates, chalices, etc. The strangest sight, however, are the astonishingly well preserved mummies of a cat and a rat that were discovered in an organ pipe!

2  Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks for your review. Glad you managed to see our famous cat and rat mummies. They've attracted a lot of attention over the years! James Joyce even talks about them in 'Finnnegans Wake', saying 'As stuck to that cat to that mouse in that tube of that Christchurch organ...'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

How can a building this old remain there so we are able to enjoy it, I have no idea, but I'm glad! Medieval history is better understood with places like these.

Thank Melisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Big, beautiful, very much worth stoping by. The story behind the connecting bridge is lovely, so make sure you read up on your history first!

Thank Moonery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks for your great review - glad the cathedral met your expectations. The famous bridge to the former synod hall was added during extensive restoration work to the cathedral, carried out in the 1870s. The hall itself incorporates the last remaining remnant (the tower) of a former church belonging to the Christ Church parish (St Michael's) and now forms part of the neighbouring 'Dublinia' exhibition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very pretty cathedral, but I didn't think the inside was anything spectacular. And I was a bit put off by having to pay to go inside a church--6 euro per person. I didn't find anything spectacular about the inside of the church, and there are plenty of other free churches in Ireland that are just as pretty on the inside.

1  Thank Efish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you weren't impressed by the interior in the cathedral - we think the gothic nave, romanesque transepts and 12th century crypt are pretty spectacular but maybe we're biased ;-) The cathedral (unlike many other churches in Ireland) is entirely self-funding so every cent donated by tourists really does go towards upkeep - we wouldn't be able to keep the building open otherwise, so thanks for your contribution!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church Cathedral also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Christ Church Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing