We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous and a breakfast to die for...”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous and a breakfast to die for...”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We visited Ariel House for a 50th birthday treat - we had a room with a four poster bed which was beautiful. It was very well placed to walk or get the bus into Dublin. As everyone says the breakfast was lovely, a nice late start to the day and beautifully presented meal with additional extras and excellent service. It is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    354
    58
    19
    16
See reviews for
338
753
57
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed for a weekend at the Ariel having never been to Dublin before. We chose the Ariel based on previous reviews. It was simply excellent.

The room and ensuite were beautifully spotlessly clean, the staff polite, cheerful and helpful, and how many places do you get 6 different choices for a cooked breakfast? We walked to most of the sights, although the Dart is about 60 seconds away if you want to take it.

The website is very good and provides all the kind of information you might need. Especially helpful was the "how to get to us from the airport" section.

We would thoroughly recommend the Ariel to all fellow travellers and wish to thank Deirde and her staff for a wonderful stay.

Finally if you have a few hours to spare take the Dart to Howth on the coast and go seal spotting - well worth it.

David and Sue x

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samuk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My wife and I and two friends have just returned from Dublin Eire, and we stayed at the Ariel House Guest House. It ranks easily with the best we have ever stayed in, the rooms were great, the location was very good, the breakfast was out of this world and I find it difficult to grade the staff as they were "Simply the best", nothing was too much trouble and they were willing at any time to assist the guests. I would definately return in the knowledge that we would be made very welcome. It was almost like staying with family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harryRomfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south queensferry
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

i booked a 2 night stay at this hotel as a birthday present for my dad and partner. Since coming back they can't stop praising this hotel. Moments away from the DART station, wonderful breakfasts, very helpful and pleasant staff. Their room was wonderful, even got an upgrade! (thanks for that, it was a nice surprise).

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theandrews031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

The Ariel House was very good. The rooms were spacious, and well appointed. The staff were very helpful. The breakfasts were very good and the service was great. The location is seconds away from the DART station, and it is a short ride to the heart of Dublin (but the trains did shut down on us one night and we had to take a taxi back). It is a 15-20 minute walk from Merrion Square where you can pick up the Hop On-Hope Off bus for sightseeing. Buses also run nearby from downtown. Good restaurants are also nearby in Ballsbridge. All in all, a very nice stay. Parking is free but can be a chore, however.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time4Travel_CaryNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Quite simply one of the best hotels we've stayed in - and certainly the best in Dublin.

Yes, as has been mentioned in a past review, there are several steps to get up to the entrance, but as the building is of the Victorian era, there is not a great deal the hotel can do about that.

However, once you are inside you are greeted with friendly, helpful staff.

Despite our room overlooking Lansdowne Road, it was very quiet at night, and even the closeness of Dublin's light rail service (the DART) didn't bother or annoy. In fact it was a guilty pleasure each morning to sit and watch the commuters walk along Lansdowne Road from the station on their way to work when we were on holiday.

The room was wonderful, with a very large bed, as well as being large enough to have a seating area with two chairs, a settee and a table.

It was nice to know the staff were always on hand should you need anything (24-hour reception) and to be able to order by phone afternoon tea in the Drawing Room for when we got back from hitting the shops, or whatever day time activity, was a delight.

Breakfast consisted of a wide range of cereals, fruit salad, scones, soda bread and a very varied selection of cooked options. Tea or coffee and toast were also in plentiful supply and the staff did all they could to accommodate those who had to leave especially early.

We cannot think of anything that was worth commenting on here. Yes, there were two or three VERY MINOR things but these were quickly sorted out by reception when we mentioned them - and you felt no animosity for bringing these to their notice.

We will certainly go back to Ariel House Hotel when we stay in Dublin again, which I hope won't be before too long.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Ariel House is in a quiet tree-lined road which made us very pleased we had not booked somewhere in Temple Bar! We had the best meal of our holiday at Roly's Bistro 10 mins down the road, which was recommended by the friendly lady at reception. The rooms were spacious and clean, with lovely high ceilings and large comfortable beds. They set up a room with an extra bed for our 3 teenagers to share. We enjoyed the period features of the hotel and had a lovely pre-dinner glass of wine in the drawing room. The best thing of all was breakfast where the service was excellent and the food really delicious.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,803 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing