We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best.”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My wife and I and two friends have just returned from Dublin Eire, and we stayed at the Ariel House Guest House. It ranks easily with the best we have ever stayed in, the rooms were great, the location was very good, the breakfast was out of this world and I find it difficult to grade the staff as they were "Simply the best", nothing was too much trouble and they were willing at any time to assist the guests. I would definately return in the knowledge that we would be made very welcome. It was almost like staying with family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harryRomfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

i booked a 2 night stay at this hotel as a birthday present for my dad and partner. Since coming back they can't stop praising this hotel. Moments away from the DART station, wonderful breakfasts, very helpful and pleasant staff. Their room was wonderful, even got an upgrade! (thanks for that, it was a nice surprise).

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank theandrews031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

The Ariel House was very good. The rooms were spacious, and well appointed. The staff were very helpful. The breakfasts were very good and the service was great. The location is seconds away from the DART station, and it is a short ride to the heart of Dublin (but the trains did shut down on us one night and we had to take a taxi back). It is a 15-20 minute walk from Merrion Square where you can pick up the Hop On-Hope Off bus for sightseeing. Buses also run nearby from downtown. Good restaurants are also nearby in Ballsbridge. All in all, a very nice stay. Parking is free but can be a chore, however.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Time4Travel_CaryNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Quite simply one of the best hotels we've stayed in - and certainly the best in Dublin.

Yes, as has been mentioned in a past review, there are several steps to get up to the entrance, but as the building is of the Victorian era, there is not a great deal the hotel can do about that.

However, once you are inside you are greeted with friendly, helpful staff.

Despite our room overlooking Lansdowne Road, it was very quiet at night, and even the closeness of Dublin's light rail service (the DART) didn't bother or annoy. In fact it was a guilty pleasure each morning to sit and watch the commuters walk along Lansdowne Road from the station on their way to work when we were on holiday.

The room was wonderful, with a very large bed, as well as being large enough to have a seating area with two chairs, a settee and a table.

It was nice to know the staff were always on hand should you need anything (24-hour reception) and to be able to order by phone afternoon tea in the Drawing Room for when we got back from hitting the shops, or whatever day time activity, was a delight.

Breakfast consisted of a wide range of cereals, fruit salad, scones, soda bread and a very varied selection of cooked options. Tea or coffee and toast were also in plentiful supply and the staff did all they could to accommodate those who had to leave especially early.

We cannot think of anything that was worth commenting on here. Yes, there were two or three VERY MINOR things but these were quickly sorted out by reception when we mentioned them - and you felt no animosity for bringing these to their notice.

We will certainly go back to Ariel House Hotel when we stay in Dublin again, which I hope won't be before too long.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley_Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Ariel House is in a quiet tree-lined road which made us very pleased we had not booked somewhere in Temple Bar! We had the best meal of our holiday at Roly's Bistro 10 mins down the road, which was recommended by the friendly lady at reception. The rooms were spacious and clean, with lovely high ceilings and large comfortable beds. They set up a room with an extra bed for our 3 teenagers to share. We enjoyed the period features of the hotel and had a lovely pre-dinner glass of wine in the drawing room. The best thing of all was breakfast where the service was excellent and the food really delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

good area and very comfortable room. im glad we choose this one. also a car park there. the lady in the reception was very friendly (brown pache hair)

I can higly recommend this b&b. think its unpossible to get a better one in dublin. dart was close as well. good breakfast.

although there was a car that had parked the car in front of our one, which made us a bit nervous. the reception girl sorted it out though :)

she also phoned us to tell us the way to next fuel station as we had to fuel up the car. excellent service. will definetly come again. 84€ for a room as not expensive. not for this service and the region of dublin was great. much nicer than the north part. like dublin 6. ballymun. ugh!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tintinsfreundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Me and my friend are from Ontario, Canada and stayed at the Ariel house in May 2009 for 6 nights. We were unsure about Dublin hotels, as we had never been before, but when we got to the Ariel House we were greeted by the friendly staff and welcoming environment. This hotel is located just outside of Dublin and 50 yards from the D.A.R.T. (Dublin Area Rapid Transit) which then will take you up and down the coast of Ireland for 5 Euros. The rooms were very clean and the meals were delicious. What was most important to us was the helpfulness of the staff to go above and beyond to accommodate our stay with them. They were approachable and friendly at anytime of the day/night!! Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a typical Irish stay. We had nothing but a good experience at the Ariel House and we would go back anytime!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,156 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,659 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,503 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,669 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $120 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing