We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed at Ariel House for four nights. As there were some minor problems with the electricity in our room, we got a free upgrade after the first night. Our room was beautiful, with a comfortable bed, armchairs and a flatscreen TV.
The hotel is very well situated in a residential area, close to the city and nevertheless very calm.
The breakfast was the highlight of our stay, undoubtedly the best we have ever had. Everything was prepared freshly, served in a bright conservatory.
We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cknorrli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

This is a beautiful victorian mansion, set on a quiet leafy road, minutes from the Lansdowne Road DART station, which is perfect for getting into the city centre and up and down the coast. Also minutes from a bus stop. We bought a combined Bus and DART ticket which gave us unlimited travel for 3 days.

Our four poster room was beautiful, with period furniture, including armschairs and table looking out over the leafy road. We booked a 2-course lunch to begin our stay and it was outstanding; everything homecooked and served in a lovely conservatory dining room. There was a great choice of breakfasts and all homecooked, fresh fruit, irish soda bread and home made banana bread and muffins - gorgeous. We had full irish both days and it was perfect. We also tried the afternoon tea and scones, this too was outstanding.

The staff at ariel house, especially Deirdre, were so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us, giving us lots of helpful advice when we asked. It really made such a difference to our stay which was a special birthday treat for my husband, so thank you to all of them.

Ariel House is located just far enough out of the city centre for nice peaceful surroundings and nice quiet sleep, but near enough to walk in if you want to. Or just stroll across to the very small DART stop across the road and you're in the city in minutes.

When we come back to Dublin we will definitely stay at Ariel House again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpecialLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

I have stayed in numerous hotels in Dublin in the past 2 years and this is without doubt the best I have stayed in.

The service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble. It is in the ideal location for sightseeing, business and the Lansdowne Stadium (fantastic view of the stadium from my room)

The room was immaculately clean and the furniture and fixtures were top quality.

The breakfast menu was superb – cooked fresh to order (too many hotels provide the dreaded self help hot breakfast buffet).

I will undoubtedly stay here again and without doubt recommended to all friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recommended2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We were there for 5 nights: The managers/ concierges got our tickets for the National Concert Hall and told us how to get stand-by tickets for Peacock Theater (sold out show) which worked. Breakfast was very good, cooked per your order, don't miss it! We did have a few minor problems with the room but they were addressed effeciently and completely to our satisfaction as the staff is very responsive. They gave us walking, bus, DART and driving directions on a regular basis. Staying there made our trip most memorable.
Janet & Henry Bartosch Memphis, TN

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed here whilst attending The Dublin Motorbike show at the RDS. It is literally only 10 mins walk away from the RDS in the Ballsbridge area and 2 mins to the train. Could not fault the hotel at all, the staff fell over themselves to be helpful and reception was manned 24 hrs a day. Nothing was too much trouble at all. The room was large (one twin and one double bed) and warm with all the usual facilities and very nice toiletries. The breakfast was the best I have ever had in ANY hotel of any star rating across the world. I would definatel stay here again when in Dublin

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdwNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArielHouse, Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2009

Thank you for your lovely comments - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ariel House at some stage in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We have just returned from our first trip to Ireland and our stay at Ariel House has been the icing on the cake! The hotel has a real character and charm - an air of elegance and style.
We arrived very early on our first day (around 9 a.m.) to find that our rooms were ready and available. Indeed, we were also delighted to be offered a full Irish breakfast - very welcome since we had left our home in Nottingham at 2.30 a.m!
The genuine warmth and friendliness of the staff makes this hotel a joy to stay in - nothing is too much trouble for them. Our rooms were very comfortable - clean and spacious.
The hotel is well situated - being only 20 minutes walk from the centre of the city and only 2 minutes walk to the Dart station. There are some lovely restaurants/bistros just up the road and the Reception staff have a good knowledge of which ones to recommend. They are more than happy to make reservations for you.
Thanks to everyone at Ariel House for our induction to Irish hospitiality!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConradTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We recently stayed at Ariel House and it was all that it lived up to!! Situated in a nice residential area yet close the city, it offered a lovely long weekend break for my partner and I. The hotel is cosy, spotlessly clean and our room was lovely!! Excellent breakfast with so much choice and afternoon tea served with a smile!! Staff were so helpful and genuinely cared about their guests. We will recommend this hotel to our friends and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrsWoolsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,113 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,420 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,045 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $144 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing