We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vs. Not so Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ariel House
Ranked #3 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
guildford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good vs. Not so Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

+ve:
Excellent Wifi.
Good price. (90 euros with breakfast)
Friendly staff.
Tasty, plentiful, Good quality Breakfast.
Ample clean towels.



-ve: Booked a superior room, but the room we got did not look like the ones advertised on the website. It was probably a superior room but was quite plain, but fairly well sized (with a double bed and a single bed).
Location is 30 minutes from town walking, or 7 mins by Dart (2 euros) + 5 min walk.
Hearing the person in the room above us walking to toilet in the middle of the night woke us up.
Room quite warm as the windows barely open.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get rooms like the ones advertised on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank audi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    343
    55
    18
    16
See reviews for
331
724
56
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bjerkreim
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is perfect for staying in Dublin. Short walk to city centre, quiet surroundings, but as always in a city, some traffic noise.
Ariel House has a very nice manager, who will happily help you with anything you would want to know about Dublin. The breakfast was gorgeous.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KnutVassbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you are visiting Dublin, I would highly recommend Ariel House, located in the lovely Ballsbridge area. Completely accessible to city center/everything you would need/want to visit via the Dart, (which is just around the corner), or taxi. We booked a family room for 5 days at the end of June/beginning of July and could not have been more pleased with the accommodations and service. The staff is top notch, the space is beautiful, clean, and quiet, AND they have a real jewel in the crown with their amazing breakfast, served in their elegant dining space/solarium . Get the Poached Eggs with Smoked Salmon. You will not be disappointed. You absolutely should consider staying here if you plan to be in the Dublin area in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megn2music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Ariel House is a lovely hotel and has great charm. Every member of staff we encountered made us feel welcome and went out their way to be helpful.
Our room was clean and spacious, more than adequate for our short stay. Pieces of antique furniture decorate the rooms and adds to the whole feel. I can't fault this place, it's lovely and we can't wait to go back hopefully soon.
Make sure you try the breakfast here to, delicious!!!!
The hotel is near the DART station so getting to and from the city centre is easy, it's a 2 minute walk to and from Ariel House to the station.
Ballsbridge Village also offers some lovely places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Co Down
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Situated in the lovely area of Ballsbridge Dublin close to the Dart station only 50 mtrs down the road and beside Landsdown Road Stadium. One of Dublins Georgian houses with great kerb appeal and with great rooms clean and tidy and ample space. Great breakfasts and a constant supply of coffee and nibbles in the residents lounge. Super staff friendly and helpful. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobthedog198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my sisters. On arrival got a lovely warm friendly greeting and as our room was not ready yet we were brought into lounge for complimentary tea/coffee and home baked goods. Our room was ready within a few minutes. The room itself was in total keeping with the beautiful Georgian house it is in. Furniture to suit the period in the room. Good size room and ensuite. A lovely welcome card, little recipe book to greet us, which was a very lovely touch. Slippers were supplied which was not expected as have stayed in hotels where this is not done. Beds were comfortable, all linen and towels clean and crisp. Guest soaps, shower gel and shampoo provided. Breakfast menu was fab, and food itself was gorgeous. Indulged in a decadent afternoon tea during our stay, Ewa our waitress was efficient, friendly, polite, a totally lovely person. Highly recommend Ariel House. Only approx 15 to 20min walk to Stephens Green or Trinity Collage.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Molloy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Ariel House in early July and it was wonderful. Located just steps from the train into the center, but a quiet and peaceful neighborhood A little area with very good restaurants and pubs is a 10 minute walk. Full service laundry also nearby. Rooms were small but comfortable. The breakfast room was a beautiful sunroom, a real treat. Staff was wonderful ... there was no request not instantly met. No lift and lots of stairs but assistance was available. Definitely would go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyB3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,278 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing