We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and the yummiest breakfast you'll ever eat!”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and the yummiest breakfast you'll ever eat!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic 2 night stay at Ariel House (18th-20th Feb). We arrived early, knowing our check-in was scheduled for 2pm but hoping to drop our bags down and head out. We certainly weren't expecting such a welcome after reading various reviews, describing the check in as 'efficient' rather than friendly.

However, as soon as we stepped through the door we were made to feel unbelievably welcome. Our bags were immediately taken from our hands and popped into the luggage room and we were offered a table in the dining room straight away to sample the famous breakfast! We took up this offer without hesitation and sat down with a lovely cup of tea, freshly baked bread, granola, jams and chutneys as well as delicious poached eggs with crispy bacon and smoked salmon with potato cakes. The best welcome ever! We were then told they could have our room ready in 15 minutes, despite it only being 10am.

We decided to take a stroll and come back a little later anyway. The hotel is situated in the leafy suburb of Ballsbridge, literally right next to the giant Aviva stadium. It is a little far out from the central attractions of Dublin (a 30 minute walk...but I am a slow walker!). We found the best way to combat this was a 2 day 'hop on/off' Dublin bus ticket which can be taken from Merrion Square which is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel and takes you to all of the main attractions in Dublin.The train station is also a 2 minute walk from the hotel but we didn't actually use the service. We also got a taxi to Temple bar when heading out for the evening (about 8euros each way)

When we arrived back, the drawing room was full of trays of little cakes, scones, tea and coffee. A lovely little touch! Our room was lovely and spacious, perfect when returning after a long day of sightseeing.

What really makes this hotel is the service, nothing was too much bother for the staff we met during our stay. They gave us recommendations on where to dine and visit, booked taxis for us and even called the Aircoach company for us when we were unsure of where the stop was for our return journey! It really was top notch service and always with a smile! A perfect example amazing customer service.

To echo nearly every other review, you really need to try the breakfast too. We had breakfast every morning, it was too amazing to miss! The staff at breakfast were also lovely and friendly.

I can see why people return here whenever they stay in Dublin, just like a home away from home. Amazing service in an elegant and traditional setting. Although a little far from the main central attractions, I would still recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin. Transport links are great and besides, the extra walking is a great way to see the whole of Dublin (a beautiful city!).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NatalieBlackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    360
    59
    19
    16
See reviews for
341
766
57
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I took my parents to see Wicked in Dublin and I finally got the chance to stay at this top rated hotel. We arrived before check in and were asked if we'd like some tea before we went back out. We were served in the beautiful drawing room with tea coffee and home made scones, it was a very warm welcome! Later on in the night we were delighted to find even more treats laid out in drawing room which were free for guests.

Breakfast was a chocolate coated cherry on a sundae of surprises. I strongly advise you to take advantage of all food available in this hotel it is all mouth wateringly good!

My only small gripe were the beds, we booked two double rooms but the beds in both were two singles pushed together and separate sheets. I won't lie not having to fight for sheets was a nice change but it meant sleeping on one side or the other no middle ground due to the break in the beds.

Room Tip: Get all of the food!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights from 14th February as a party of 6 for a family celebration weekend. The hotel is in a great location and it was very easy to get the DART from Lansdowne Road to Tara Street for the city centre. The rooms were very good with all the amenities you would need and the breakfast choices and quality were fantastic. Can't praise the staff highly enough-their friendliness and attentiveness was outstanding. Thank you Ariel House-we look forward to coming back soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LFisherBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

this is a gem of a place . we stayed 2 nights whilst visiting Dublin for 6 nations rugby . stadium was a 2 minute walk --yet peaceful and quiet at ariel house . The rooms were clean and nicely decorated . personally I would have liked some bottled water in the room and the pillows were a bit flat -- but that's personnel taste . I would also have liked to have seen 4 poster rooms -just read in review but didn't get that option . the highlight was the breakfast -- the service was faultless and the choice and quality as good as any 5 star hotel . The homemade brown bread and scones were awesome . We will definitely return when we come back to Dublin .special mention should go to lady who looked after breakfast --anticipated every need and really made breakfast experience first class .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reader12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have stayed dozens of times at Ariel House, so I've stayed in a variety of rooms. Every stay has been an absolute pleasure. Immaculately clean, cosy and welcoming. The staff are always impeccably well mannered and friendly. It's lovely to enjoy a glass of wine by the fire beside the grand piano and read a free paper. Even the most affordable rooms (which I normally opt for) have traditional features like antique furniture, heavy lined drapes, carved beds and damask bed throws. The breakfast is better than any four star hotel I've ever stayed in, hands down, and the train station is 60 seconds away. Having stayed in many of the more expensive hotels nearby I always prefer Ariel House.

Room Tip: Because the house is very old, some rooms have lots of little lamps instead of one main ceiling ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily_J_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice though there is evidence of wear and tear especially in the bathroom and this could do with an update. This is why it gets a 4 star and not a 5.

What's great about this place is the service. You really felt looked after. The breakfast was so yummy - lots of choice for everyone. The waitresses were exceptional. I didn't get their names but they deserve a shout out as they went out of their way to make sure we were well fed! It's also next to the AVIVA stadium and I really liked the location. It's far enough out that you get away from all the hustle of a city but you can get to the centre in about 15 minutes walk and there are some really nice restaurants not too far away and a train station a few minutes walk away.

Would definitely recommend and would stay there again if I was going to Dublin.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OnO955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We were in Dublin for the 6 Nations and stayed 2 nights at the Ariel which we chose for its proximity to the Aviva. Our experience began before we'd even arrived in Ireland with a friendly 'courtesy' call from Dermot - a lovely touch.
We were lucky enough to have our room upgraded and loved the extra space, the four poster and the enormous bathroom. Breakfast was as good as previous reviews have stated with the added bonus that our window table looked directly at the Aviva. The Ariel is close to the Dart station so Dublin City centre is 5 minutes away - allowing us to visit Trinity College, Dublin Castle etc. The staff are friendly and professional and we felt as if nothing was too much trouble. The only negative was the chandelier in our room shook every time the people upstairs walked across the floor, the beautiful bathroom would benefit from a blind or shutters at the window and the pillows were a little hard for my taste. All very minor points compared to the positives! Can't wait until the next Ireland v Scotland game in Dublin so we can visit the Ariel again. It thoroughly deserves its good reputation and rave reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeannTigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,893 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing