We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my daughter. It is a lovely guesthouse with great staff and amazing breakfasts! The room we had was very spacious and a large bathroom, beds were comfortable and spotlessly clean. The location was great with the Dart train stop just a few minutes away that took us right into the city centre. All the staff we encountered were very nice and helpful. The only "complaint" I would have was that our room was situated right under the front room and there was a lot of walking in there which was quite noisy, but we were also jet lagged so that didn't help. It is a wonderful place to stay and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Swede80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    322
    52
    17
    15
See reviews for
312
668
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for a four night birthday treat for my husband. It was a lovely hotel. The staff were very helpful when our room door had a problem and generally extremely helpful. I tried a few of the breakfast options and they were all very tasty. The baked goods are lovely and we enjoyed our pack up breakfast on the ferry the day we left.

Our room was lovely, and very big. The (four-poster) bed was very comfortable and our bathroom was huge. Only two little niggles were the fabric on one of the high back chairs in our room was coming off the chair and the carpet had a few stains. But, even though our room was in the front of the hotel, we did not hear the trains. And Dublin is very accessible from this location - about 25 minutes walk to the city centre, or 5 to the DART station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britican09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a very comfortable, generously sized superior double room. We checked in at midday and the staff allowed us access to our room straight away (fantastic after 33hrs traveling from Sydney). Room was spotless with a shower-over-bath in a modern spacious ensuite - toiletries, hairdryer and heated towel rail included. Bed was a king (!) and very comfortable. Limited parking available though on-street available free after 6pm - first in basis. Breakfast is generous with a self-serve buffet and cooked available. Nice touches with tea (herbal incl) and coffee plus cake, banana bread and biscuits provided free in the afternoons.in the front room. Tourist brochures etc available. Located in an up-market area just out of the city but well serviced by buses that run 10-15 mins apart on main road (10 min walk away). Our 3 day bus passes (incl hop-on-hop off tourist bus) have been great value. Staff are welcoming and helpful - and seem keen to ensure we enjoy our stay in Dublin. Suggestions for dinner were spot-on - simple well-cooked Irish food (Bellamy's pub or the bistro next door in Ballsbridge, or School House Pub, Haddington / Northumberland Rd) at reasonable price and available early to jet-lagged travelers - both 10 min walk from B&B. House is nicely renovated with thought to its history. Highly recommended and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road have a little road and train noise - station 1 min walk away, but not on a busy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The staff were warm and helpful. The sitting room was nice and cakes were provided every afternoon. We didn't have breakfast. It took about 25 mins to walk into Dublin centre although the train stop was convenient if preferred. We could hear the trains but they didn't seem to run through the night. It is very convenient for the Lansdowne stadium which would be noisy if there were an event so you might want to check their diary. We could clearly hear the Robbie Williams concert sound check but felt it was a bonus :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi_L007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A very nice guesthouse in a wonderful location, close enough to walk into town and yet nice and quite. The house itself is a bit old and does need some minor repairs here and there, but overall it was very clean and well-presented. The room was spacious, as was the ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was excellent! We even had a nice view of the garden. 24 hour congierce service is another bonus of this guesthouse. The price is reasonable for Dublin. For me the best choice in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TayReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here. We loved the place and the staff. They are all super helpful and will do their best to help you. Their breakfast was yummy! They are about a 20 min walk from downtown. BUT the downfall is that Rihanna had a concert here and it's RIGHT next door. We had to fight the crowds to get into the B&B. We can hear the concert loud and clear word for word. I would check and make sure there isn't a concert going on when you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were delighted with the size of our rooms and the lovely furnishings. The bedding was very comfortable and we had everything we needed. The staff welcomed us with coffee and some banana bread and were very kind to offer us a breakfast 'take away pack' for the next day as we were doing a Rail tour. This was very generous considering our gluten intolerance and it was greatly appreciated. The location is great as it is within striking distance of the city and is in a very lovely part of town. We had a medical emergency on our last of four days and the manageress even offered to drive us to the hospital. We cannot rate the staff highly enough; they were generous and thoughtful, attentive and informative. Breakfasts are a treat in themselves and you will feel very grand indeed as you are waited on with care and provided wonderful choices for your morning feast. Lovely, lovely, lovely.

Room Tip: We had a big bay window and were at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,993 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,391 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing