We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not a good hotel”
Review of Drury Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Court Hotel
Ranked #22 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were supposed to stay for 4 nights but had to leave after 2 nights of stay. Check in was efficient and flawless. Front staff were helpful and friendly.The only other plus for this hotel is its location from Grafton st and Temple Bar. Other than that it's all downhill.

Our room had new paint and was quite large. The bathroom was very large as compared to other hotels. Room and bathroom were acceptable for cleanliness. However our room didn't have aircond so had to open the windows. As a result we could hear noise from the street, people drinking until the wee hours (Bia bar is underneath the hotel), delivery trucks unloading in the early mornings, cars driving by in the mornings. In short we couldn't get any sleep because we had to open the windows.

Also there was no shampoo but only liquid soap. And there were 2 separate fawcets for hot and cold water - you either use the hot or the cold so either you scald your hand or freeze it to death. Luckily we didn't stay during winter or summer.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel and will definitely not stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prickycritic05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your recent stay, here in the heart of Dublin’s Cultural Quarter. I was particularly pleased to learn of your appreciation of your efficient and flawless check-in, helpful and friendly staff, newly painted, clean large room and very central location. It’s just a shame that you didn’t mention the noise issue during the duration of your stay as I could have personally accommodated a room move to the rear of the hotel for both a quieter room with individual air-conditioning and temperature control. Being a city centre hotel we do occasionally experience on-street noise, upon your return I would gladly accommodate a request for a quieter room.
In relation to the array of soaps in the bathroom I am in the process of changing these over to the traditional offering and welcome your feedback on this matter.
I was disappointed that your conclusion was not to stay here in the future, especially given the number of compliments you mentioned earlier but, would relish the opportunity to personally oversee your return visit.
Kind Regards,
David Cahill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived and the airport and decided to take a bus to our hotel. It's a bit of a drive due to the bus route, but was fun. The bus driver was very helpful ( it turns out that all Irish inhabitants seem to be that way. What a nice surprise). Hotel was easy to find with the help of the trusty iphone map.

Hotel staff were very nice and helpful getting us oriented. Turns out the hotel is within easy walking distance to Temple Bar, St Stephens Green and many other nice sights. I'm not sure how you could find a better location.

Warning - our rooms were noisy and on a weekend there's plenty of late night activity at the bars with folks milling around in a "happy mood". We had a difficult time sleeping due to the noice from the Bar next door and the folks on the street. I think it would be fine if you book a room off the street.

Room Tip: Dublin is a noisy city, get a quite room off the street and away from the bar and you'll sleep b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cali4niaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your recent stay, here in the heart of Dublin’s Cultural Quarter. I was surprised to read of your experience of the Airport Bus: the only conclusion I can draw is that you didn’t avail of either the Airlink or Aircoach Routes, both of which leave you just beside Trinity College within 40 minutes – a 3 minute walk to the hotel.
I was pleased to learn of appreciation of our helpful team in relation to getting you orientated. The location is indeed centrally located in the heart of the city. Being a city centre hotel we do occasionally experience on street noise, upon your return I would gladly accommodate a request for a quitier room. Please ensure to mention Tripadvisor to avail of a 10% discount when booking directly by phone or email again.
Kind Regards,
David Cahill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A quite good hotel located just a few minutes walk from Temple Bar and other interesting areas. The room was actually bigger than we had expected for that price. The so called continental breakfast buffet was a bit of a disappointment though. There were however a lot of nice places nearby that served excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your recent stay with us, here in the heart of Dublin city. I was pleased to learn of your appreciation of the central location and large room relative to the price. In an effort to remain competitive in the current climate we have reduced the Breakfast price to €5.95 for continental and €8.95 for a traditional cooked breakfast. I only hope that during your experience you tried some of the array of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts, compotes and continental cheese and ham. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back. Just a reminder to mention Tripadvisor to avail of a 10% discount or free parking when booking directly by phone or email.
Kind Regards,
David Cahill.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My partner & I stayed in The Drury Court for one night last month, and had a nice pleasant experience, staff were approachable & knowledgeable, should we be staying in the city again this is certainly where it will be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here because our Son bought us tickets to a play in the Gaiety Theatre and it was a hotel close. Very good location in Dublin City Centre. Our room was a basic double room, had a comfortable bed, and very clean room. The woman on reception was very friendly. We ate lunch in the bar below the hotel the next morning, the food was very nice. I would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The location is good, however the hotel has the air of a budget hostel rather than a hotel. We did not enjoy our stay at all, in fact we spent quite a bit of time trying to find a nicer hotel but in the end decided to just make the best of a bad situation. Rooms are old and in need of refurbishment as is rest of the hotel. Our bathroom stank of sewage and when we asked to be moved to another room because of this they said they were fully booked - didn't seem that busy though. When we asked them to do something about the awful smell of sewage they just left us a can of air freshener! No attempt to actually rectify the problem and they really weren't interested.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-camper700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make me aware of your recent visit in the hotel. I have contacted you personally through Tripadvisor to take this matter further. I was interested in the response from our team in relation to your comments about the room, they certainly don’t seem indicative of the vast majority of our guests’ experience or of our service. In relation to the room move, we often have a full house because of location, in the heart of Dublin city.
Having personally conducted an internal investigation and, also having tried to contact you through Tripadvisor, but to no avail, I have no record of such an incident taking place. I relish the opportunity to conclude the matter with you as we value all guest feedback, however, this is proving difficult.
Please rest assured I will take this matter further both with you, and indeed our team as this is neither the standard we aspire to, or on the whole, create for our guests. Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind Regards,
David Cahill.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My Husband and I recently stayed at this "central to everything" Hotel. We requested a larger room because we (as Americans) required Air Conditioning, the Air Conditioning didn't work real well (it never got really cool ) BUT it just so happened that the UK had a very warm first week of September and we would have 'died" without it ! As Americans I have found that our idea of a "large" room is not the same as the UK's definition of a "large" room -to be honest - the room that was supposed to sleep (and accomodate ) 3 people was simply adequate for 2 people, in other words it appeared to be a room for 2 with a single bed crowded into the room .That being said, the room was clean and although the decor was "bare-bones" ( the t.v. was small and old fashioned looking) the Hotel was right in the center of everything and Sophia and the rest of the staff were friendly and eager to please.The Bia Bar in the Hotel served an adequate breakfast with the evening atmosphere being lively (with music on the weekends) but NOT overun with students ( a nice place for a "grown-up" to get an Irish coffee) ! We had a bit of a parking snafu and David Cahill (the Manager) went above and beyond to resolve our problem , he is kind and charming and obviously cares about the guests comfort and the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank China F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 152 in Dublin
2,439 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#58 of 152 in Dublin
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Court Hotel

Address: Drury Court Hotel 28-30 Stephen Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $98 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located city centre hotel within walking distance of all of Dublin's main attractions and eateries, including Trinity College, Temple Bar & St. Patrick's Cathedral. Triple glazing in all of our rooms along with our recently upgraded complimentary WiFi access ensure a comfortable stay for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Court Dublin
Hotel Drury Court
Drury Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing