We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Charleville Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleville Lodge
Ranked #109 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

stayed here last weekend while at a show in Dublin. the location was lovely and phoenix park was just a short drive away. mc gowans bar and restaurant (recommended by hotel) was just a short walk away and the food was lovely. for the price you pay you get a quality stay in a lovely friendly hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaybay778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    224
    144
    57
    69
See reviews for
101
262
48
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We felt really comfortable during our stay at charleville lodge - room was nice, bed was made every day, bathroom was a bit old, but clean and new towels were brought every day. Breakfast was good as well. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help.
Location is good - Walking takes around 20 minutes to centre. There is also a bus station close by, but we never used it.
Charleville lodge is definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Pros; Room warm, beds comfortable, enough hot water for shower & towels, front desk staff helpful, bus stop in front of building
Cons; Hallway smelled of fuel oil, ceiling light in room hanging from bare wires, broken lamp in room, entry & bathroom door knobs falling off, need to drop room key at desk each time you leave, neighborhood is full of garbage and closed shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Lancaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

we stopped here on 21/3/14 for 3 nights for my Mums 75th Birthday There were 11 of us in 6 rooms. Rooms weren't bad a few cosmetic changes in the bathroom are needed. The biggest critiscism is no tea and coffee in the room, in this day and age that is a minimum. There is a tea machine reception but it costs 1 euro a drink, coffee is ok but tea is awful. We ate ate at a nearby pub called McGowans which was good, tell reception you are eating there and they will give you a voucher to get your first drink free. The bus into the centre stops outside the hotel and is 1.70 euros and they are quite frequent. Overall good value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank terry69williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Charleville Lodge. The rooms were very clean, the beds were super comfy, and the breakfast was great for the value.
We had a really great experience with the staff at the hotel as well, made it very hard to leave. She was very helpful in finding us things to do as well as how we could get there. Made some really great recommendations on places to visit as well as things nearby we had to see. Highly recommend this place if you're staying in Dublin! A solid 10 minute walk to the city center. Not bad at all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the second time I am reviewing this hotel as i felt I had to, as this is the second time they have made this mistake. I had booked a double room for single occupancy over the weekend, I was given a twin room instead. When I went back to reception I was told it was nothing that they can do, as the hotel was fully booked.I had explicitly booked a double room with a doubly bed. She said she could push the bed together and give me a double duvet, this was far from ideal but so late in the day I felt there was no alternative. The room itself was ok, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, you had to pay for your tea or coffee out at reception which was a bit of a rip off. There was no shower gel just a bar of soap for washing. The breakfast finished very early n the morning, especially for the weekend, 9:30, usually breakfast goes onto 11am at minimum in most hotels at the weekend. The girl at reception was nice and friendly

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is one charming small hotel. A bit farther from the main attractions than one might expect, but easily accessible by local bus or by walking about 20 minutes. The hotel is a lovely brick structure with iron fence. The rooms are nice and well appointed. There is a common lounge area for guests with fireplaces and comfortable chairs. The dining facility in downstairs with a lovely black and white tile floor. Breakfast at the hotel comes in several versions to suit your tastes or budget. The food was excellent, particularly the full Irish Breakfast. The staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to assist you in your travel plans. There are not lifts in the building, so if you have a travel companion that has mobility issues, this might pose a slight problem. There is a lovely large church across the way, which gives the area a nice character to it. SPAR stores and the chemist are nearby as well. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maples House Hotel
#98 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
My Place Dublin Hotel
#125 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#136 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Property: Charleville Lodge
Address: Charleville Lodge 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleville Lodge is an elegant Victorian terrace of houses located in the Phibsborough area of Dublin City, near to Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Mater Hospital, Grangegorman, The Phoenix Park and within easy reach of Dublin Airport, car ferries, many historical sights, theatres, shops and restaurants.Beautifully restored and tastefully refurbished in a traditional manner, Charleville is often referred to as boutique accommodation. It offers our guests inimitable service and comfort in an atmosphere that is welcoming, attentive and personal.What makes us different?15 minutes walk to O’Connell Street 15 minutes walk to Croke Park Buses to and from City Centre every 10 minutes Near to the centre, but at a distant to allow a pleasant, peaceful nights sleep Taxis to and from Temple Bar approximately €7 20 minutes drive from Dublin Airport Taxis to and from Dublin Airport approximately €20 Resident’s Bar.Multilingual Reception Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing