We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaintly Spectacular”
Review of Charleville Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleville Lodge
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaintly Spectacular”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Charleville Lodge. The rooms were very clean, the beds were super comfy, and the breakfast was great for the value.
We had a really great experience with the staff at the hotel as well, made it very hard to leave. She was very helpful in finding us things to do as well as how we could get there. Made some really great recommendations on places to visit as well as things nearby we had to see. Highly recommend this place if you're staying in Dublin! A solid 10 minute walk to the city center. Not bad at all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    226
    146
    58
    72
See reviews for
102
267
50
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the second time I am reviewing this hotel as i felt I had to, as this is the second time they have made this mistake. I had booked a double room for single occupancy over the weekend, I was given a twin room instead. When I went back to reception I was told it was nothing that they can do, as the hotel was fully booked.I had explicitly booked a double room with a doubly bed. She said she could push the bed together and give me a double duvet, this was far from ideal but so late in the day I felt there was no alternative. The room itself was ok, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, you had to pay for your tea or coffee out at reception which was a bit of a rip off. There was no shower gel just a bar of soap for washing. The breakfast finished very early n the morning, especially for the weekend, 9:30, usually breakfast goes onto 11am at minimum in most hotels at the weekend. The girl at reception was nice and friendly

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is one charming small hotel. A bit farther from the main attractions than one might expect, but easily accessible by local bus or by walking about 20 minutes. The hotel is a lovely brick structure with iron fence. The rooms are nice and well appointed. There is a common lounge area for guests with fireplaces and comfortable chairs. The dining facility in downstairs with a lovely black and white tile floor. Breakfast at the hotel comes in several versions to suit your tastes or budget. The food was excellent, particularly the full Irish Breakfast. The staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to assist you in your travel plans. There are not lifts in the building, so if you have a travel companion that has mobility issues, this might pose a slight problem. There is a lovely large church across the way, which gives the area a nice character to it. SPAR stores and the chemist are nearby as well. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed one night while visiting family in the area and highly recommend it. Very large , well furnished room with both double and single bed although we only paid for double room. Spotlessly clean, well decorated, good quality bed linen & comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great choice for breakfast - fruit, yogurt, cereal, cold meats, cheese & full Irish - all fresh and well presented. Surprisingly convenient for city centre, bus stop nearby but could easily walk to O'Connell street in 10 to 15 mins. It was also very quiet and peaceful. They didn't serve dinner but as its so near city centre this was not a problem.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor at the back of the building and it really was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a great feeling the moment I walked up the steps of this Victorian Hotel. Lovely friendly staff and an excellent twin room for me and my business colleague. At €20 each for a night it was serious value. Will stay here on my return visit! Says it all really! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Co Down
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We only stayed one night. I was travelling alone with my 8 yr old daughter. Location is fab - u can drive to Phoenix Park in minutes. The reception staff are fantastic and so friendly. I rang at 11pm to get wifi password and even at that time they were so helpful. The hotel was noisy - a row was going on in room above us n a baby screamed most of the night.Our room was a bit grubby but yhe beds were spotless although uncomfortable. But despite all this I would return as its good value for money and I felt safe there. Breakfast was good. My daughter cant wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had booked with a groupon voucher as a birthday present for a nice romantic getaway for my boyfriend and myself. When I reserved booking had double checked availability for 15th Feb (night after valentines). Voucher included wine, full irish and late check out. Gave voucher as present, following day received call that voucher not valid for date. Explained to staff that present already given. They confirmed that ok as booking been taken we would be accommodated. I did worry that we would get a bad room as a result of this and needless to say we did. Room 20 is directly opposite 24 hour reception, there are no fire doors to reduce noise when people are returning from nite or early morning when people are leaving for flights etc. Therefore was woken at all hrs throughout night. Noise throughout with phone in reception, weird beep that kept going off.Feel very upset as a result had travelled from Galway did not avail of late check out as could not wait to get out and come home. Room 20 should not be rented out unless earplugs are provided. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank reillyoha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maples House Hotel
#95 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
My Place Dublin Hotel
#125 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#135 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Property: Charleville Lodge
Address: Charleville Lodge 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleville Lodge is an elegant Victorian terrace of houses located in the Phibsborough area of Dublin City, near to Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Mater Hospital, Grangegorman, The Phoenix Park and within easy reach of Dublin Airport, car ferries, many historical sights, theatres, shops and restaurants.Beautifully restored and tastefully refurbished in a traditional manner, Charleville is often referred to as boutique accommodation. It offers our guests inimitable service and comfort in an atmosphere that is welcoming, attentive and personal.What makes us different?15 minutes walk to O’Connell Street 15 minutes walk to Croke Park Buses to and from City Centre every 10 minutes Near to the centre, but at a distant to allow a pleasant, peaceful nights sleep Taxis to and from Temple Bar approximately €7 20 minutes drive from Dublin Airport Taxis to and from Dublin Airport approximately €20 Resident’s Bar.Multilingual Reception Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing