We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovated Victorian boutique hotel”
Review of Charleville Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleville Lodge
Ranked #109 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great renovated Victorian boutique hotel”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in the Charleville Lodge in the middle of March during my 5 week vacation to Europe. We weren't expecting to stay in a hotel but something came up and we had to find lodging at the last minute. We were walking to the bus stop when we came across this hotel. It was evening and the outside was charming and atmospherically lit.
We didn't think we could afford it since it looked so nice, but we went inside anyway and were extremely happy to find out the price for both of us together was 40 Euro a night. You can also opt for breakfast for another 7-10 Euros, which is actually the only thing I would complain about. The first option isn't worth the price. If you want the breakfast spring for the all included Irish breakfast.
The staff was incredibly helpful and polite, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The showers had almost too much water pressure (a good thing!), and the whole place has been renovated to make you feel like you've stepped back into the late Victorian period.
There is a bus stop across the street and city center is only 5-10 minutes away, though we walked the 20 minute route instead. The botanical gardens is also a 15 minute walk. Several pubs, restaurants, and a grocery store are all within a few blocks. Very convenient, but a bit more private since it's not right in the city center.

Would not hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front of the building so you can overlook the nice front garden and the peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucibelladonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    231
    150
    59
    72
See reviews for
106
271
52
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Charleville Lodge. The rooms were clean and well-kept. The service was absolutely impeccable. We felt more than welcomed to ask questions and the staff was very knowledgeable on all of Dublin. We were able to schedule many trips through the staff there. They even offer a flat rate car to the airport! Looking forward to staying there again!! Also the rates were wonderful for what you got.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I'm pregnant and had a craving for chocolate in an evening while staying and after finding out the machines didn't sell chocolate, the owner was kind enough to get me a couple of bars from her own room which she didn't have to do. Very welcoming and homely environment, will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayna1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

At €29 a night you can't really complain as it does the job of a place to dump your stuff and rest your head city centre but i wouldn't pay anymore than that as it reminds me if faulty towers, everything's falling apart avid it's a Shame as a little tlc and it could be so much more welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayna1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stay at this hotel often when visiting family in the area. Most of the rooms are comfortable, no frills, clean and warm. It is a very Irish hotel in a grand terrace of houses, slightly faded but completely suits us. We enjoy it more than staying somewhere soulless and paying a lot more for the privilege and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Travel into the city is very easy with buses close by, many taxis and the airport is also easy to access. Unlike one or two other reviewers we have never had an issue with cleanliness in this hotel and have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Charleville suite quirky with a lovely roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karijude600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

There are several signs on display in this hotel requesting guests to provide feedback on Tripadvisor, so here goes, I am not sure that they will like it. While the rates offered very good value for accommodation close to Dublin city center (we paid 30 Euro per night for double rooms), the cleanliness and overall standard left a lot to be desired. It was also disappointing to find that the hotel has adopted the 'Ryanair model' of pricing, so we had to pay an additional fee to park our car in the private carpark to the real of the hotel, and as we arrived fairly late at, it did not appear that this is locked for extra security overnight.
The main cause of complaint was that, when removed on of the 2 pillows on her side of the bed, she found a number or small (male?) hairs on the cover of the bottom pillow. This led me to inspect mine also, and found a long black (female?) hair on the cover of the lower pillow - uuughhh! Obviously the cleaning staff had just swapped the top and bottom pillows around instead of changing the bed linen after the previous guests had vacated the room. I note that another recent reviewer had a similar experience,so this was not a one-off incident.
In addition, the fixtures and fittings ware all a bit worn out and shabby, door handles in particular seem to be a challenge to the maintenance staff as the inside door handle, bathroom door handle and one on a drawer in the phone table were all loose. The hinges on one door of the (chipboard) wardrobe was broken and the door hung off when open. The curtain rail had been changed for a smaller one fairly recently, I know this because there were several holes visible on the walls where the original rail had been screwed on, they did not bother to plaster and/or paint over the these when replacing the curtain rail.
Finally, our room was at the top of a narrow stairs and round a short corridor, with no access to a fire escape apart form the same stairs that we had come up to reach the room - not good.
In summary, if you want a cheap budget overnight relatively close to Dublin center, you won't get much better value than the Charleville Hotel, but one night was enough and given the fact that the bedlinen was dirty, I am happy that we did not opt to eat breakfast in the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Did not avail of room service if it is available, rooms were missing hairdryers although it was stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maples House Hotel
#100 of 151 in Dublin
249 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,345 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#78 of 151 in Dublin
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#129 of 151 in Dublin
296 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,886 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#119 of 151 in Dublin
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Property: Charleville Lodge
Address: Charleville Lodge 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleville Lodge is an elegant Victorian terrace of houses located in the Phibsborough area of Dublin City, near to Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Mater Hospital, Grangegorman, The Phoenix Park and within easy reach of Dublin Airport, car ferries, many historical sights, theatres, shops and restaurants.Beautifully restored and tastefully refurbished in a traditional manner, Charleville is often referred to as boutique accommodation. It offers our guests inimitable service and comfort in an atmosphere that is welcoming, attentive and personal.What makes us different?15 minutes walk to O’Connell Street 15 minutes walk to Croke Park Buses to and from City Centre every 10 minutes Near to the centre, but at a distant to allow a pleasant, peaceful nights sleep Taxis to and from Temple Bar approximately €7 20 minutes drive from Dublin Airport Taxis to and from Dublin Airport approximately €20 Resident’s Bar.Multilingual Reception Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing